1.5.A. Departments in the School of Medicine

The establishment or abolition of an academic department is recommended by the Dean to the Provost after consulting the Executive Committee of the School. If the Provost recommends approval, the proposal is forwarded to the Advisory Board, which submits a recommendation to the President. The President, in turn, recommends it to the Board of Trustees, which makes the final decision. The rationale for giving departmental status to an academic activity must be strong and well supported by documentation of programmatic need and meeting financial and other requirements.

There are currently thirty academic departments within the School of Medicine.

1. Basic Sciences Departments

  1. Biochemistry
  2. Bioengineering
  3. Biomedical Data Science
  4. Chemical and Systems Biology
  5. Developmental Biology
  6. Epidemiology & Population Health 
  7. Genetics
  8. Health Policy
  9. Microbiology and Immunology
  10. Molecular and Cellular Physiology
  11. Neurobiology
  12. Structural Biology

2. Clinical Sciences Departments

  1. Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
  2. Cardiothoracic Surgery
  3. Comparative Medicine
  4. Dermatology
  5. Emergency Medicine
  6. Medicine
  7. Neurology and Neurological Sciences
  8. Neurosurgery
  9. Obstetrics and Gynecology
  10. Ophthalmology
  11. Orthopaedic Surgery
  12. Otolaryngology
  13. Pathology
  14. Pediatrics
  15. Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  16. Radiation Oncology
  17. Radiology
  18. Surgery
  19. Urology