Overview of IONM Fellowship Program at Stanford

Stanford University Medical Center (SUMC) offers a rigorous one year ACGME-approved Clinical Neurophysiology fellowship with emphasis on Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring (IONM). The fellows primary responsibilities are in general clinical neurophysiology and its application in the operating room, which constitutes approximately 70% of the fellows schedule. The diversity and high volume of operative procedures for which IONM is routinely performed at Stanford ensure a comprehensive fellowship experience. In 2016, a total of over 1400 cases were monitored. Additional training in EEG and EMG complements the general clinical neurophysiology education. The fellow is also trained in the use of botulinum toxin in the treatment of neurologic disorders and participates in a bi-weekly general neurology clinic.

Fellows are also required to participate in clinical research. Stanfords IONM group is one of the leaders in the nation, promoting the use of IONM in a variety of surgical and endovascular cases and laying the platform for research and advancement in the field.

SUMC is a busy tertiary referral center, with over 600 inpatient beds. The IONM group works closely with surgeons, anesthesiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, and other staff across multiple disciplines with the common goal of optimizing patient postoperative outcomes.


We are now accepting applications for the 2025-2026 year or later. If you are interested in applying to our Clinical Neurophysiology Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring Fellowship, we request a cover letter outlining your career goals and interest in pursuing an IONM fellowship, a minimum of three letters of recommendation, a copy of your CV, and a completed application form. General information about the three Clinical Neurophysiology tracks offered at Stanford (IONM, Epilepsy/EEG, and Neuromuscular/EMG) may be found in our application letter.

Our Fellows

2009-2010 Viet Nguyen, MD
2010-2011 Scheherazade Le, MD
2012-2013 Daniel Lai, MD
2013-2014 Forough Ghavami, DO
2014-2015 Gowri Lakshminarayan, MD
2015-2016 Orhan Bican, MD
2016-2017 Brian Ahuja, MD
2017-2018 Amit Shah, MD
2018-2019 Sunhee Kim, MD
2019-2020 Aditya Joshi, MD
2020-2021 Felix Chang, MD
2020-2021 Shahla Moghbel, DO
2021-2022 Thomas Hirschauer, MD, PhD
2022-2023 Ankita Tippur, MD
2023-2024 Rohit Gummi, MD

Contact Information

For additional IONM fellowship information, please contact:

Christina Sabathia
Neurology Coordinator

Leslie H. Lee, MD
Fellowship Director
(650) 725-9876