The Stanford IONM Team


Jaime R. López, MD
Director, Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring Program

My clinical interests are in the areas of Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring (IONM), clinical neurophysiology, electromyopgraphy and in the use of botulinum toxins in the treatment of neurologic disorders. Our IOM group's research is in the development of new and innovative techniques for monitoring the nervous system during surgical and endovascular procedures and how these alter surgical management and patient outcomes. I am also active in formulating national IOM practice guidelines.

Felix Chang, MD

Dr. Chang's clinical interests include clinical neurophysiology, intraoperative neurophysiologic monitoring (IONM), and the treatment of neurological disorders with botulinum toxin. Ongoing research projects include analyzing characteristics of critical neurophysiologic changes during IONM cases, and human factors in IONM.

S. Charles Cho, MD

Dr. Cho’s Clinical research is focused on peripheral nerve and muscle disorders and the prevention of cerebrovascular disesase in the intraoperative setting. His ongoing clincial studies include treatments for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), Inflammatory Demyelinating Neuropathy and HIV neuropathic pain.

Scheherazade Le, MD

Dr. Le's clinical research is focused on novel intraoperative monitoring techniques including brainstem mapping.  She is also interested in the interface of EEG and seizures in the intra-operative setting.  She is heavily involved with trainee education and has clinical interests in epilepsy, electroencephalography and autoimmune epilepsy.

Leslie H. Lee, MD

Dr. Lee’s academic interests include clinical neurophysiology, intraoperative neurophysiologic monitoring (IONM), general neurology, stroke, and headache disorders. Ongoing research projects include the study of critical IONM changes that predict reversible cortical and subcortical ischemia, new methodologies to identify neural structures at risk perioperatively and optimize patient outcomes, and clinical trials involving emerging therapies in the treatment of multiple sclerosis.

Viet Nguyen, MD

Dr. Nguyen’s practice leverages neurophysiology to improve the care of neurologic patients, including the Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring service, the Stanford Concussion Clinic, and the Spasticity Clinic, which treats patients with spastic paralysis (i.e. from cerebral palsy, stroke, multiple sclerosis, etc.), including the use of botulinum toxin injections.  Ongoing research projects include finding correlations between intraoperative neurophysiologic data and post-operative outcomes, and validation of new neuromonitoring techniques.  He presents at research forums and educational courses at professional society meetings nationally and internationally.  He runs the Introduction to Neurology Seminar (NENS206) at the medical school, is a mentor for the Stanford Immersion in Medicine Series (SIMS), and is a preceptor for the Stanford Institutes of Medicine Summer Research Program (SIMR).

IONM Fellow

Rohit Gummi, MD


  • Eric Jones, NDL Lab Manager
  • Tess Ritchey, Lead Technologist
  • Carlos Campos
  • Carlos Guerrero
  • Harleen Jammu
  • Harinder Kaur
  • Kirandeep Khinda
  • Carmen Malvestio
  • Ayush Patel
    Brooke Perras
  • Dylan Roberts
  • Nicholas Sandoval
  • Kiera Sughrue
  • Elizabeth Svoboda

Additional Support

JoAnn Ceranski Neurodiagnostic Technologist
Christina Sabathia Fellowship Coordinator