Gynecology Pathology Fellowship


We offer a one-year fellowship in gynecologic pathology (ACGME accredited) that provides advanced, focused, and intensive training in diagnostic gynecologic pathology.

  • Specific rotations include: "hot seat", frozen section, sign out of consultation material (including immunohistochemistry and other special diagnostic techniques), “junior” attending sign-out, placental pathology, research, and elective time.
  • Elective time may be designed to pursue additional subspecialty training in other areas of surgical pathology, including dermatopathology, or in molecular pathology, cytogenetics, hematopathology, and/or research or other areas depending on fellow interest and/or career goals.
  • Fellows participate in departmental and interdepartmental conferences, as well as medical student and resident teaching.
  • Departmental resources and support are available for clinicopathologic and translational research projects.


The program is no longer accepting applications for the 2019-2020 fellowship. 

For additional information please contact Phyllis Bettencourt at:

Send application to:

Phyllis Bettencourt
Department of Pathology
Stanford University School of Medicine
300 Pasteur Drive, Room L235
Stanford, CA 94305-5324

Tel: (650) 498-6460
Fax: (650) 725-6902



Fellowship Program Coordinator

Markell Stine
300 Pasteur Dr., R204
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: (650) 497-6371


Ann Folkins

Ann Folkins, MD

Assistant Professor

Christina Kong

Christina Kong, MD

Professor of Pathology

Director, Cytopathology Service & Cytopathology Fellowship Program

Medical Director, Clinical Laboratory & Anatomic Pathology Services

Director of Quality Assurance

Teri A. Longacre

Teri A. Longacre, MD

Professor of Pathology

Director of the Gynecologic Fellowship Program

Director of Gastrointestinal Fellowship Program

Eric Yang

Eric Yang, MD, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology, Gynecologic Pathology and Cytopathology

Current Fellows 2018-2019

Keegan Barry-Holson, MD
University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine

David Levy, MD
University of California, Irvine


Incoming Fellows

Julianna Weiel, MD (2019-2020)
University of Arizona College of Medicine 

Kelly Devereaux, MD, PhD (2019-2020)
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Ellen Cai, MD, PhD (2020-2021)
The University of British Columbia

Jennifer Pors, MD (2020-2021)
McGill University