GI Pathology Fellowship


The ACGME-accredited fellowship in gastrointestinal pathology is designed to offer advanced, focused and intensive diagnostic training in gastrointestinal pathology, including hepatobiliary and pancreas pathology.

  • Specific rotations include: "hot seat", frozen section, sign out of consultation material (including immunohistochemistry and other special diagnostic techniques) and elective time.
  • Elective time may be designed to pursue additional subspecialty training in other areas of surgical pathology, including dermatopathology, or in molecular pathology, hematopathology, and/or research.
  • Fellows participate in departmental and interdepartmental conferences, as well as medical student and resident teaching.
  • Departmental resources and support are available for clinicopathologic and translational research projects.


The program is no longer accepting applications for the 2019-2020 fellowship. 

For additional information please contact Phyllis Bettencourt at:

Send application to:

Phyllis Bettencourt
Department of Pathology
Stanford University School of Medicine
300 Pasteur Drive, Room L235
Stanford, CA 94305-5324


Fellowship Program Coordinator

Markell Stine
300 Pasteur Dr., R204
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: (650) 497-6371


Gerald Berry

Gerald Berry, MD

Professor of Pathology

David Bingham

David Bingham, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor in Pathology, Surgical Pathology

John Higgins

John Higgins, MD

Professor of Pathology

Co-Director, Post-Sophomore Fellowship in Pathology

Co-Director, Renal Pathology Service

Co-Director, Electron Microscopy

Neeraja Kambham

Neeraja Kambham, MD

Professor of Pathology

Co-Director, Renal Pathology Service

Co-Director, Electron Microscopy

Teri A. Longacre

Teri A. Longacre, MD

Professor of Pathology

Director of the Gynecologic Fellowship Program

Director of Gastrointestinal Fellowship Program

Jeanne Shen

Jeanne Shen, MD

Assistant Professor of Pathology

Richard K. Sibley

Richard K. Sibley, MD

Professor of Pathology

Current Fellows 2018-2019

Alaleh Shandiz, MD 
Islamic Azad University, Mashhad Branch

Jordan Sim, MD 
University of Ottawa

Incoming Fellows

Anne Chen, MD (2019-2020)
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine 

Gregory Scott, MD, PhD (2019-2020)
Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine 

Nkechi Okonknwo, MD (2019-2020)
University of Texas Medicial Branch

Erna Forgo, MD (2020-2021)
Ross University School of Medicine  

Mona Wood, MD, PhD (2020-2021)
University of California, Irvine, College of Medicine

Oscar Silva, MD, PhD (2020-2021)
University of California, Los Angeles, Geffen School of Medicine