Surgical Pathology Fellowship


We offer a one-year accredited fellowship in surgical pathology that provides advanced, focused, and intensive training in diagnostic surgical pathology.

Specific rotations include: "hot seat", frozen section, sign out of consultation material by subspecialty (including immunohistochemistry and other special diagnostic techniques), junior attending and elective time.

Selective/elective time may be designed to pursue additional training in subspecialty areas of pathology (gynecologic, soft tissue, breast, gastrointestinal, renal, cardiopulmonary,genitourinary, pediatric, head & neck, transplantation), or other areas including molecular pathology, dermatopathology, cytopathology, hematopathology, and/or research.

Fellows participate in departmental and interdepartmental conferences, as well as medical student and resident teaching. Fellows share night/weekend call for surgical pathology.

Departmental resources and support are available for clinicopathologic and translational research projects.

Stanford establishes PGY levels for new fellows based on the successful completion of all prerequisite training required for entry into your fellowship program. Stanford does not recognize additional training beyond the prerequisite training requirements when establishing the PGY level for entry into the program.


The Stanford Surgical Pathology Fellowship has made a late decision to join the unified timeline for summer of 2022 applications (for the 2024-2025 academic year). We will begin interviews 8/15/22. Either the CAP application (with short supplement), or Stanford application will be accepted.

Interviews will be primarily virtual.

Please submit application and letters via email (pdf preferred) to:

Thelma Santa Maria

Fellowship Director

Megan Troxell, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Co-Director, Post-Sophomore Fellowship in Pathology
Director, Surgical Pathology Fellowship Program

Fellowship Program Coordinator

Markell Stine

Current Fellows 2022-2023

Frederick Eyerer, MD
Medical School: Tufts University School of Medicine
Residency: University of Vermont Medical Center

Marietya Lauw, MD
Medical School: Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Residency: Leiden University Medical Center
Past Fellowship: Hematopathology, University of California, San Francisco

Ying Liu, MD, PhD
Medical School: Tianjin Medical University
Residency: University of California, Davis, School of Medicine
Past Fellowship: Gynecologic Pathology, Johns Hopkins University

Eric Ollila, MD
Medical School: Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
Residency: University of Alabama at Birmingham

Byoung Park, MD
Medical School: Universidad Francisco Marroquin
Residency: MedStar Georgetown University Hospital

Oyewale Shiyanbola, MBBS, PhD
Medical School: University of Ibadan, College of Medicine
Residency: University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics

Rebekah Wieland, MD
Medical School: University of Vermont College of Medicine
Residency: Stanford Medicine, Department of Pathology

Incoming Fellows 2023-2024

Susan Potterveld, DO

Brandon Say, MD

Rabia Bhalli, MD

Tyler Jankowski, DO

Seena Tabibi, MD

Joanna Solarewicz, DO

Andrea Krajisnik, MD