Funded Partner

SPARK has a special focus on the often-neglected diseases, including those in the area of Child and Maternal Health. Thanks to funding from the Stanford Maternal and Child Health Research Institute, 18 projects in this area have reached the clinic or commercial sectors.

SPARK is a unique partnership between the University and industry experts. Building upon Stanford’s tradition of technological innovation and entrepreneurship, Chemical and Systems Biology Professor, Daria Mochly-Rosen, founded the SPARK program, and joined by Professor Kevin Grimes later in the first year, to provide a cost-effective model to generate proof of concept using out-of-the-box academic approaches combined with industry standards.

SPARK provides access to specialized knowledge and technical expertise regarding drug and diagnostic development, dedicated core laboratory facilities, and sources of funding to support translational efforts.

FY 2020 Awards

Paul L. Bollyky, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Microbiology & Immunology
Co-I: Nadine Nagy, PhD, Instructor, Medicine
Project Title: Targeting CD44 Variant Isoforms to Treat Diabetes

Jin Billy Li, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics 
Co-I: Paul Vogel, PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Genetics
Project Title: Utilizing Endogenous ADAR for Therapeutic Transcriptome Engineering by Antisense Oligonucleotides

Stanley Qi, PhD
Assistant Professor,  Bioengineering (School of Engineering) and Chemical & Systems Biology (School of Medicine)
Co-I: Michael Chavez, Graduate Student in Bioengineering
Project Title: Drug-Controlled CAR T Cells for the Treatment of Pediatric Leukemia

Jayakar Nayak, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology (Head & Neck Surgery Divisions)
Co-I: Dawn Bravo, Basic Life Research Scientist
Project Title: CFTR CRISPR Edited Upper Airway Stem Cell Transplantation into Animal Models for Pre-Clinical Application of Human Airway Stem Cells to Treat Cystic Fibrosis

Peter Luke Santa Maria, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology
Co-Is: Annelise Barron, PhD, Bioengineering; Jennifer Lin
(Year Two) Project Title: Synthetic Antimicrobial Peptoids for the Treatment of Chronic Suppurative Otitis Media

Peter Luke Santa Maria, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology
Co-I: Laurent Bekale, PhD, Otolaryngology
(Year Two) Project Title: Glucose Capped Gold Nanoparticle as Targeted Anti-Biofilm Adjunctive Therapy in Chronic Suppurative Otitis Media

Past Awards