Scientific Advisory

All applicants receive reviewer comments regardless of award.  Prior to submission or resubmission, applicants to any of the MCHRI funding program may request a meeting with a reviewer.  To request a meeting with a reviewer please contact MCHRI Administration.

Review and Selection Criteria

Members of the MCHRI and former award recipients are invited to participate as reviewers.  Separate review panels are convened for each of the MCHRI funding programs.  Each review panel has a Panel Chair or two Co-chairs.  There may be more than one panel within each program depending on the number of applications received and reviewers available for any particular cycle.  The Review and Selection Criteria for MCHRI funding programs follow an NIH model.  Each proposal is assigned at least two reviewers.

Reviewers who have met with applicants prior to submission or resubmission for scientific advice are automatically recused from those applicants’ proposals. Other conflicts of interest are considered. Reviewers are not assigned to proposals for which they are listed and/or identified as a mentor, co-investigator, or collaborator. We do not see a conflict if a reviewer and investigator are from the same department and/or division as long as the reviewer feels they can give an unbiased assessment, and is not a mentor, co-investigator, or collaborator.

Reviewers provide written comments and a score on each proposal assigned. Panels meet 6 to 8 weeks after the submission deadline. Final scores from the review meetings determine the ranking of proposals. A separate Funding Committee, including the MCHRI directors and panel chairs, determines funding cutoff for each cycle. The cutoff score varies each cycle depending on the applicant pool and the availability of funds.


Reviewers play a critical role in helping MCHRI adjudicate its funding programs, including evaluating proposals, providing written critiques, and contributing to larger panel discussions for each cycle. The Faculty Scholar/Harman Faculty Scholar, Transdisciplinary Initiatives, Bridge, Instructor K-Award, Master’s Tuition Programs are all reviewed by members of the MCHRI Executive Committee.


Faculty Scholar Program

  • Harvey Cohen, MD, Co-Chair
  • David K. Stevenson, MD, Co-Chair

Pilot Program

  • Paul Grimm, MD, Co-Chair
  • Gary Shaw, PhD, Co-Chair
  • Beth Beadle, MD, PhD
  • Yair Blumenfeld, MD
  • Clark Andrew Bonham, MD
  • Michael Eisenberg, MD
  • Brice Gaudilliere, MD, PhD
  • Bereketeab Haileselassie, MD
  • Kelly Mahaney, MD
  • Richard Reimer, MD
  • David Rosenthal, MD
  • Douglas Sidell, MD
  • Julia Simard, ScD
  • Laura Simons, PhD

Clinician Educator (CE) Program

  • Sayantani (Tina) Sindher, MD, Co-Chair
  • Deirdre Lyell, MD, Co-Chair
  • Suzan Carmichael, MS, PhD
  • Adam Frymoyer, MD
  • Grace Gengoux, PhD
  • John Erik Leikauf, MD
  • Annette Nasr, PhD
  • Keith Van Haren, MD

Clinical (MD) Trainee Program

  • Daniel Bernstein, MD, Co-Chair
  • Hayley Gans, MD, Co-Chair
  • Cynthia Campen, MD
  • Natalia Gomez-Ospina, MD, PhD
  • Kenneth Weinberg, MD
  • Courtney Wusthoff, MD

Postdoctoral Support Program

  • Julien Sage, PhD, Panel Chair
  • Kathleen Sakamoto, MD, PhD, Panel Chair
  • Virginia Winn, MD, PhD, Panel Chair
  • Justin Annes, MD, PhD
  • Jeremy Dahl, PhD
  • Erin Gibson, PhD
  • Tamar Green, MD
  • Kevin Grimes, MA, MD, MBA
  • Stephanie Leonard, PhD
  • Michael Moseley, PhD
  • Anca M. Pasca, MD
  • Vinicio de Jesus Perez, MD
  • Sushma Reddy, MD
  • Vittorio Sebastiano, MD
  • Daniel Spielman, PhD
  • Katja Weinacht, MD, PhD


Structural Racism, Social Injustice and Health Disparities Pilot Grants Program

  • Bonnie Halpern-Felsher, PhD, Panel Chair
  • Nancy Ewen Wang, MD, Panel Chair 
  • Iram Ahmad, MD, MME
  • MyMy Buu, MD
  • Jonathan Shaw, MD, MS

Updated list of reviewers as of 2/2023.