Neurosurgery Grand Rounds

Jul July 09 Fri 2021

Chiefs Conference

Jul July 16 Fri 2021

Sub-intern research presentations:

Austin Feng, Stanford Medical Student: "Deep Brain Stimulation of the Nucleus Accumbens with Coordinated Reset for Ameliorating Binge Alcohol Drinking"

Angel Billingsley, Stanford Medical Student: "Disparities in DVT and endovascular equity: A multivariate retrospective data analysis of the impact of SES, air quality, race and ethnicity, and gender on severity of illness, and primary outcomes"

Jul July 23 Fri 2021

No Neurosurgery Grand Rounds

Aug August 06 Fri 2021

No Neurosurgery Grand Rounds

Aug August 13 Fri 2021

Chiefs Conference

Aug August 20 Fri 2021

No Neurosurgery Grand Rounds

Aug August 27 Fri 2021

Departmental Conference for August 2021 

 (Neuroscience Hospital and Professional staff only) 

Sep September 03 Fri 2021

Better Data to Save the Brain: Optimizing EEG Approaches to Prevent Secondary Injury

Allen Waziri, MD
CEO and Founder, iCE Neurosystems Inc.

Sep September 10 Fri 2021

Neurosurgery Chief’s Conference

Presenting: Chiefs of LPCH, SVCMC and VA

Sep September 17 Fri 2021

Sub intern research presentations:

Kobie Mensah-Brown, Penn Medical student: “The Temporal Evolution of Neural Activity in Human Brain Organoids”

Ryan Phelps, UCSF Medical student: “Inducing a Robust Anti-Tumor Immune Response in Medulloblastoma”

SJ Lee, Harvard Medical student: “Biochemical substrate for dopamine dependent learning”

Tim Kim, JHMI Medical student: “Combination Checkpoint Therapy with Anti-PD-1 and Anti-BTLA Results in A Synergistic Therapeutic Effect Against Murine Glioblastoma”

Debebe Theodros, JHMI Medical student: “Characterizing the Role of 007, a Novel B7-Superfamily Member and Regulator of Myeloid Cells in Cancer”

Shahank Rajkumar, Duke Medical student: “Costs and Treatment Patterns of Iatrogenic Spinal CSF Leaks.”

Sep September 24 Fri 2021

Departmental Conference for August 2021

 (Neuroscience Hospital and Professional staff only)

Oct October 01 Fri 2021

Sub intern research presentations:

Sheantel Reihl, UCSF Medical student: “Equity & Access to Clinical Trials for Adult Gliomas”

Racquel Whyte, UCSF Medical student: “Comparison of Platelet Reactivity to Thromboxane, P2Y12 and PAR1 Agonists between Acute Ischemic Stroke Patients and Non-Stroke Controls"

Vik Kohli, University of Texas, Medical student: “Predicting Risk of Stroke in Patients with COVID-19: A Machine Learning Approach”

Oct October 08 Fri 2021

Ars videndi: Advancing spinal surgery with novel imaging technologies

Christoph Hofstetter, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Neurological Surgery, University of Washington

Oct October 15 Fri 2021

Advancements in Neuromodulation to Promote Recovery after Spinal Cord Injury

Candy Tefertiller, PhD, PT, DPT, NCS
Director of Research and Evaluation, Craig Hospital

Oct October 22 Fri 2021

Departmental Conference for September 2021

 (Neuroscience Hospital and Professional staff only)

Nov November 05 Fri 2021

Letting the Technology Help You: Incorporating Robotics Into Your Spine Practice

Laura Snyder, MD
Associate Program Director, Barrow Neurological Institute          

Nov November 12 Fri 2021

Neurosurgery Chief’s Conference

Presenting: Teams A, B, and C Chiefs

Nov November 26 Fri 2021

No Neurosurgery Grand Rounds

Dec December 03 Fri 2021

From walking out on the boys to finding my voice: Becoming an advocate for gender equity in medicine

Pamela Kunz, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine/ Oncology, Yale School of Medicine

Dec December 10 Fri 2021

Neurosurgery Chief’s Conference

Presenting: Teams A, B, and C Chiefs

Dec December 17 Fri 2021

Departmental Conference for December 2021

 (Neuroscience Hospital and Professional staff only)

2022

Jan January 07 Fri 2022

Dr. Michael Wang's Grand Rounds scheduled for this date will be rescheduled for later in the Spring.

Dr. Lim and Grant will instead update everyone on COVID and share other updates via Zoom during this time slot. 

Jan January 14 Fri 2022

Neurosurgery Chief’s Conference

Presenting: Teams A, B, and C Chiefs

Jan January 21 Fri 2022

Transcending MIS Lateral Spine Surgery

Juan Uribe, MD

Professor and Vice-Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery, Barrow Neurological Institute     

Jan January 28 Fri 2022

Departmental Conference for January 2022

 (Neuroscience Hospital and Professional staff only)