Our History

Department Chairs

W. Edward Chamberlain, MD
1920 - 1930

Robert R. Newell, MD

Franz Windholz, MD
1947-1948 (interim)

Henry S. Kaplan, MD
1948 - 1972

Malcolm A. Bagshaw, MD
1972 - 1986

Ronald Castellino, MD
1986 - 1989 (interim)

Gary M. Glazer, MD
1989 - 2011

Sanjiv Sam Gambhir, MD, PhD
2011 - 2020

Garry E. Gold, MD, MS
2020-2022 (Interim)
April 2022 – Present

To view the list of emeritus faculty, please visit this link.

Below is a list of significant events in the history of Stanford University School of Medicine Radiology.

1904 - First actinographer (radiology instructor) hired at Stanford University

1920 - W. Edward Chamberlain, MD, selected as Chairman

1930 - Robert Newell, MD, selected as Chairman

1945 - NMR co-discoverd by Felix Bloch, Professor of Physics at Stanford

1947 - Franz Windholz, MD, selected as (Interim) Chairman

1948 - Radiology becomes a separate medical department
              Henry Kaplan, MD, selected as Chairman
              Basic biological research initiated in department
              First mouse colony established.

1949 - Nuclear Medicine Program started

1952 - Henry Kaplan and Edward Gintzon begin building first American medical Linear Accelerator

1956 - First Linear Accelerator in America installed at Stanford Hospital, San Francisco

1959 - Stanford Medical School moves to Palo Alto Campus

1962 - Henry Kaplan and Saul Rosenberg begin definitive trials on Hodgkin's disease treatment which lead to success

1972 - Malcolm Bagshaw, MD, becomes Chairman of Radiology

1986 - Ronald Castellino, MD, becomes (Interim) Chairman of Radiology Department
              Department separated into Radiology and Radiation Oncology

1989 - Gary Glazer, MD, becomes Chairman of the Department of Radiology
              Radiological Sciences Laboratory (RSL) established

1992 - Richard M. Lucas Center for Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy and Imaging completed

1993 - First training grant awarded, Stanford Cancer Imaging Training (SCIT) - NCI T32

1995 - MR activities designated as NIH National Research Resource

1996 - Lucas Center expansion and first 3D medical imaging lab: 3DQ Lab

1997 - Initiation of intensity modulated radiation therapy

1998 - First Multidetector CT, outside factory environment, sited at Stanford

1999 - First Clinical multidetector CT

2003 - Molecular Imaging Program at Stanford (MIPS) established

2005 - Molecular Imaging activities designated as NIH-funded National Research Center (ICMIC NCI P50)
              Lucas Center's second expansion

2006 - Third NIH Center, Center for Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence (CCNE) - NIH U54
              Second training grant Stanford Molecular Imaging Scholars (SMIS) - NIH R25T

2007 - Center for Biomedical Imaging at Stanford (CBIS) initiated
              Integrative Biomedical Imaging Informatics at Stanford (IBIIS), formerly, Information Sciences in Imaging established

2008 - Sherman & Redwood City, Outpatient Imaging

2009 - Canary Center at Stanford established, Early Detection

2010 - Nuclear Medicine clinic opens
              In Vivo Cellular and Molecular Imaging Center (ICMIC) Renewed
              Third training grant Stanford Cancer Imaging Training (SCIT) Program - NCI T32
              Fourth NIH Center, Center for Cancer Systems Biology (CCSB) - NIH U54
              Center for Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence and Translation (CCNE-T) NIH U54
              Advanced Residency Training at Stanford (ARTS) Program established

2011 - Center for Advanced Neuroimaging established
              MRI-guided Cancer Interventions
              Stanford Molecular Imaging Scholars (SMIS) renewed
              Sanjiv "Sam" Gambhir, MD, PhD, becomes Chairman of the Department of Radiology

2012 - Lucas Center expansion III

2013 - Porter Drive facility opens

2015 - Training in Biomedical Imaging Instrumentation (TBI2) established
              Cancer-Translational Nanotechnology Training (Cancer-TNT) Program established
              Center for Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence for Translational Diagnostics (CCNE-TD) NIH U54
              Incubator for Medical Mixed and Extended Reality at Stanford (IMMERS) research group established
              Stanford Cancer Center South Bay opens
              Stanford merges with ValleyCare Health System in Pleasanton, CA

2016 - Stanford Neuroscience Health Center opens

2017 - Establishment of the Precision Health and Integrated Diagnostics (PHIND) center
              Project Baseline begins
              New Lucile Packard Children's Hospital (LPCH) opens
              Stanford Health Care in Emeryville opens

2018 - Incubator for Medical Mixed and Extended Reality at Stanford (IMMERS) lab created

2019 - New Stanford Hospital opens
              Stanford Redwood City campus opens

2020 - Chair of the Department of Radiology, Sanjiv Sam Gambhir, MD, PhD, passed away on July 18, 2020; Garry Gold, MD, MS, was appointed Interim Chair.

2021 - 
Biomedical Physics (BMP) PhD Program created by Departments of Radiology and Radiation Oncology. First class of six students to begin in Fall 2022.

2022 - Garry E. Gold, MD, named Chair of the Department of Radiology, effective April 16, 2022
              Nuclear Medicine Center designated as Center of Excellence by the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI)
              New Radiology wing at the VA Palo Alto Health Care System, adding multi-level, 34,000 gross square feet addition to the main hospital 
              Stanford Health Care-ValleyCare rebranded as Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley
              Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD, awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for her development of bioorthogonal reactions
              Expansion of the Cyclotron and Radiochemistry Facility (CRF) begins at 1701 Page Mill Road in the Stanford Research Park

2023 - A new prototype GE HealthCare photon counting CT (PCCT) scanner was installed at 3155 Porter Drive, only the second such scanner in the United States.

2024 - Ribbon Cutting Ceremony in January for the installation of our second cyclotron facility at 1701 Page Mill.