Commission on Justice and Equity

We are pleased to announce the official launch of Stanford Medicine's Commission on Justice and Equity. The Commission—composed of external and internal leaders, experts, and advocates—represents an institution-wide, collaborative effort to dismantle systemic racism and discrimination within our own community and beyond. Critically, the Commission will seek to build upon the commendable work already being led by our community leaders and affinity groups. Over the next six months, the Commission's charge will be two-fold:

  1. With our community's input, the Commission is responsible for recommending strategies for strengthening Stanford Medicine's diversity, equity, and inclusion practices and our organizational culture so that we can better model the behaviors and changes necessary in our society.
  2. The Commission will also recommend ways that Stanford Medicine can assert a national role in addressing health disparities that continue to harm historically marginalized groups.

Each Commission member brings an invaluable perspective to this vital work, recognizing that we must account for the complex intersectionality of discrimination and social injustices to create meaningful change.

StanfordMed LIVE event introducing Stanford Medicine’s Commission on Justice & Equity

Commission Membership

External and Community Members

Rosalind Hudnell
Commission Chair; Former Vice President, Global Corporate Affairs, Intel and President, Intel Foundation
Chris Bischof
Founding member and Principal at Eastside College Prep School, East Palo Alto
Sumbul Desai
Clinical Associate Professor, Medicine

VP Health, Apple

Justin Hansford
Executive Director, Thurgood Marshall Civil Rights Center, Howard University School of Law
Marc Jones
Chairman & CEO, Aeris Communications; Stanford University Board of Trustees; Stanford Health Care Board of Directors
David Lopez
Co-Dean, Rutgers Law School; Former General Counsel, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Internal Members

Eusebia Abad
Phlebotomist, Pre-Analytical Services
Ade Ayoola
Knight-Hennessy Scholar; MD Student
Noelle Hanako Ebel
Clinical Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Miriam Goodman
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology
Terrance Mayes
Associate Dean and Executive Director, Commission on Justice and Equity
Carla Pugh
Professor of Surgery; Director, Technology Enabled Clinical Improvement Center
Monica Ruiz
Fellow, Pediatric Intensive Care
Sarah Tabb
RN, Cardiac Unit
Hannah Valantine
Professor of Medicine; Former National Institutes of Health Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity

Staff Leadership

Maria Frantz
Project Manager
Priya Singh
Chief Strategy Officer and Senior Associate Dean
Terrance Mayes
Associate Dean and Executive Director, Commission on Justice and Equity
Christine Park
Administrative Coordinator

Commission Updates

Contact Us