Commission Membership

Terrance Mayes, EdD
Associate Dean and Executive Director, Commission on Justice and Equity


Dr. Mayes has long championed the critical role of diversity, inclusion, and equity in academic settings and society more broadly – most recently as University of California, Irvine’s inaugural Chief Diversity Officer and Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion for its College of Health Sciences and medical center. Among his many achievements, he was instrumental in establishing LEAD-ABC, a unique program focused on developing physician-leaders committed to addressing the health needs of African, Black, and Caribbean communities.

As the Executive Director of our Commission on Justice and Equity, Dr. Mayes will focus on implementing strategies that enable us to dismantle prejudice and bias within our community. He will also direct efforts spearheaded by Stanford Medicine to tackle these issues in the field of medicine and beyond. His responsibilities will include steering the work of internal and external experts appointed to the Commission, serving as the group’s primary liaison to the Stanford Medicine community, and leading the execution of critical initiatives recommended by the Commission. Complementing his work with the Commission, Dr. Mayes will partner and collaborate with community leaders across Stanford Medicine’s three entities to enhance diversity initiatives; create a comprehensive curriculum on health equity, cultural humility, and inclusive excellence; and report progress against goals.

Dr. Mayes returns to Stanford University School of Medicine after serving as our Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Diversity from 2012-2017. While here, Dr. Mayes proved himself an effective collaborator, respected mentor, and innovative strategist. Among his many efforts to enhance Stanford’s diversity and inclusion efforts, Dr. Mayes developed a model that attracted a record number of matriculants from underrepresented backgrounds to our PhD biosciences programs for the 2015-2016 academic year and sustained success thereafter.