COMET Fall Fellows

Class of 2024

Angel Cleare

Hi, I’m Angel,

Though I currently live in Massachusetts, I spent a large portion of my life in Nassau, Bahamas. I attended Stanford University where I received a minor in Spanish and a B.S. in Human Biology with a concentration of the Behavioral and Physiological Elements of Well-being. I am currently working as an Anatomy Scholar at Stanford Medical School where I am able to learn from and teach using the cadaver donors from Stanford’s Anatomical Gift Program. Aside from medicine, my interests include power lifting, singing, and crocheting! 

During my time as an undergraduate, I was interested in preventative care, particularly the use of food and exercise as an integral part of medicine. I thoroughly enjoyed the Nutrition, Kinesiology, Food Behavior and Community Health courses I got to take throughout my time in school. I also had the opportunity to help with research comparing dietary self-monitoring methods in a digital weight-loss intervention among racial and ethnic minority adults. I later incorporated this research into an honors thesis I wrote during my senior year. Just this summer, I was able to spend my last quarter as a college student in Mexico where I got to shadow physicians in various health clinics and broaden my understanding of healthcare systems in different countries. 

Once I eventually become an established physician, I hope to return to my childhood home in the Bahamas and work on improving the healthcare there. I aspire to aid in transforming the Bahamian medical system from a reactive approach to a proactive one, focusing on both preventive care and community health initiatives. 

I am looking forward to being a part of COMET this year and many learning opportunities to come.

Emily Merlin