Our Mission

The Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine (PCCM) is comprised of a team of outstanding clinicians, scientists, and scholars dedicated to improving the lives of patients with serious lung disease and optimizing the treatment of the critically ill.

Division Announcements

August 16, 2017:  Congratulations to one of our 'extended' family members, Dr. Marlene Rabinovitch MD, who has been a mentor, colleague and friend to the Division for years.  She has been named the AHA Distinguished Scientist Lecturer for the Annual AHA Meeting in Anaheim this year.  This is a signal acknowledgment, made even more remarkable by her winning the Amberson Lectureship at the ATS last year. These awards reflect the high regard towards Marlene held by academic physicians and physician-scientists.

June 27, 2017:  Congratulations to Instructor, Dr. Sandra Andorf on being awarded the Child Health Research Institute (CHRI) Grant & Postdoctural Award for her proposal titled:  “Characterizing natural tolerance in milk and egg allergic Children and their implications” under the mentorship of Dr. Kari Nadeau.  CHRI at Stanford University provides a unique opportunity to advance the health of children and expectant mothers worldwide.

June 27, 2017:  Congratulations to Postdoctural Fellow, Dr. Monica Romero Lopez on being awarded the School of Medicine Dean’s Postdoctoral Fellowship award for her proposal titled:  “Wnt7a: A Novel Regulator of Right Ventricular Adaption in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension” under the mentorship of Dr. Vinicio de Jesus Perez.  The Dean’s Postdoctoral Fellowship at the School of Medicine is a longstanding program in support of postdoctoral research.

June 14, 2017:  Congratulations to our PCCM Division Chief, Dr. Mark Nicolls and Dr. Marlene Rabinovitch for a new $3M NIH/NHLBI R01 grant entitled "Endothelial Injury, BMPR2 Dysfunction and Macrophage Activation Cause Endothelial-Mesenchymal Transition and Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension". The proposed studies will investigate how inflammation causes vascular injury that culminates in a deadly pulmonary disease for which there is currently no curative therapy.

June 14, 2017:  The Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Division is happy to formally announce that Dr. Chitra Dinakar is the new Clinical Chief of Allergy and Asthma in PCCM.  Professor Dinakar was recruited to Stanford as part of the Sean N. Parker Center led by Dr. Kari Nadeau. Chitra is a national leader in the field and was recently elected to the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology’s Board of Directors in March of this year.  Chitra will help lead the burgeoning allergy and asthma clinical programs which began with the arrival of Kari and her team into our division. Please welcome Chitra when you see her!

June 12, 2017:  Congratulations to Amy Tian, PhD, who has been awarded the Top Poster at the Lymphatic Forum 2017 in Chicago! This was a highly competitive process and was based on a study just published in Science Translational Medicine. Amy's work describes how inflammation contributes to lymphedema, a chronic condition affecting millions for which there are no approved medical treatments. For her achievement, Dr. Tian will receive a $1,000 prize. Her work served as the basis of a new and currently enrolling clinical trial (ULTRA) which specifically targets lymphedema-associated inflammation with a new drug therapy.

May 19, 2017:  Congratulations to Dr. Paul Mohabir on his appointment as the new Critical Care Medicine Program Director. 

April 1, 2017:  Congratulations to Dr. Edda Spiekerkoetter for having been awarded a highly competitive DOD grant addressing the targeting of BMPR2 signaling to improve right ventricular function in congenital heart disease. 

March 28, 2017:  Congratulations to Dr. Angela Rogers for being selected to receive funds to attend the AAMC Early Career Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar to be held in Stevenson, Washington from July 15-18, 2017. Numerous applications were received this year and Dr. Rogers is one of four selected recipients.

February 6, 2017:  Congratulations to Ke Yuan on being awarded the 2017 Parker B. Fellowship Award, a highly prestigious 3 year grant awarded in a highly competitive selection process to 10-12 fellows each year.

January 19, 2017: Congratulations to Dr. Vinicio de Jesus Perez on his new R01 in pulmonary hypertension research.


Division Events


PFF Summit 2017:  November 9-11, 2017:  Nashville, TN

AHA Scientific Sessions 2017:  November 11-15, 2017:  Anaheim, CA

ISHLT 2018:  April 11-14, 2018:  Nice, Provence Alpes Cote

Aspen Lung Conference 2018:  June 6-9, 2018:  Denver, CO

PH Conference 2018:  June 29-July 1, 2018:  Orlando, FL


About our Fellowship Program

Welcome to the Stanford Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship.  We offer a 3-year ACGME accredited fellowship designed to provide outstanding clinical and research training in an intellectually vibrant and highly supportive learning environment.  Our fellowship’s four distinct tracks are structured to offer trainees experiences that align with their unique career goals.  We also offer an additional 4th year of subspecialty training in Lung TransplantationPulmonary Hypertension and Sleep Medicine which fellows can apply for in their third year.


All fellows receive 18-20 months of clinical training in Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine with core rotations at Stanford University Hospital,  the Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, and the Palo Alto VA Health Care System. By rotating at these hospitals with distinct patient populations, fellows are exposed to a wide breadth of disease states and pathology. Our elective courses provide the opportunity for the additional in-depth study of specific areas of interest. Our fellows are also provided ample time to explore outstanding research opportunities at Stanford. Thank you for your interest in our fellowship program and for exploring our website. Please don't hesitate to contact us for further information. We are currently recruiting fellows for the class of 2018, as part of the NRMP match.