Department and Institute Leadership

Basic Science Departments, Chairs

Aaron Straight, PhD
Jennifer Cochran, PhD
Sylvia K. Plevritis, PhD
Biomedical Data Science
James Chen, PhD
Chemical and Systems Biology
Sherril L. Green, DVM, PhD
Comparative Medicine
Anne Villeneuve, PhD
Developmental Biology
Melissa Bondy, PhD
Epidemiology and Population Health
Michael Snyder, PhD
Doug Owens, MD
Health Policy Research
Denise Monack, PhD
Microbiology and Immunology
Miriam B. Goodman, PhD
Molecular and Cellular Physiology
Stephen Baccus, PhD
Ted Jardetzky, MD
(Interim until August 31, 2022)
Structural Biology

Clinical Science Departments, Chairs

Brian Bateman, MD
Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Joseph Woo, MD
Cardiothoracic Surgery
Paul Khavari, MD, PhD
Andra Blomkalns, MD
Emergency Medicine
Robert Harrington, MD
Frank Longo, MD, PhD
Neurology and Neurological Sciences
Michael Lim, MD
Leslee Subak, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Jeffrey Goldberg, MD, PhD
William Maloney, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery
Konstantina Stankovic, MD, PhD
Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery
Thomas Montine, MD, PhD
Mary Leonard, MD
Laura Roberts, MD
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Quynh-Thu Le, MD
Radiation Oncology
Garry Gold, MD
Mary Hawn, MD
Eila Skinner, MD

Institutes of Medicine, Directors

Crystal Mackall, MD
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Steven Artandi, MD, PhD
Stanford Cancer Institute
Joseph Wu, MD, PhD
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute
Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD
Stanford ChEM-H (Chemistry, Engineering & Medicine for Human Health)
Mark Davis, PhD
Stanford Institute for Immunity, Transplantation and Infection
Irving Weissman, MD
Stanford Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine (Through August 31, 2022)
Mary Leonard, MD
Stanford Maternal and Child Health Research Institute
William Newsome, PhD
Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute