Admissions Process

The following application materials are required as part of the admissions process.  Please refer to the Admissions Timeline page for details regarding notification timeframes for the different types of admissions decisions.

Step 1: CASPA Application

a. The Stanford University Master of Science Degree in PA Studies Program uses the Central Application Service for Physician Assistants to receive applications.

The 2017 application window will open on April 26, 2018 and close on September 1, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time / 10:59 p.m. Central Time / 8:59 p.m. Pacific Time.

b. Graduate Record Examinations (GRE)

The Stanford University ETS code is 4704.  ETS will automatically send scores to Stanford if applicants designated Stanford as a receipient prior to taking the test.   Unofficial scores must be logged into CASPA at the time of application submission.   

Please note that GRE scores are only valid for five years. 


Step 2: Interviews

All complete applications will be reviewed for consideration for an interview and invitations will be sent via e-mail on a rolling basis.  Interviews for the 2018-2019 application cycle are expected to take place in October 2018.  

Step 3: Acceptance

Students are accepted on a rolling basis.  All offers of admission are made by the Office of PA Admissions.  A non-refundable seat deposit of $1,000 is required at the time an applicant accepts a position in the class.  This deposit will be applied toward the applicant's first-quarter tuition.


Deferral of Matriculation

Accepted applicants may petition in writing for deferral of matriculation.  Deferrals may be approved for up to two years for reasons provided they are related to the personal and professional circumstances of the admitted applicant and the furtherance of his/her educational plans.  The request for deferral should provide an appropriate degree of detail. Deferrals are granted at the discretion of the Office of PA Admissions.