Paul & Mildred Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center, Stanford
and virtual option

Photo credits: Siyeon Rhee, PhD

Welcome to 2024 Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium. This symposium provides a valuable and important platform for inspiring interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research and will support a fantastic networking experience. It provides a great resource for researchers, pharmaceutical companies, investment groups, and those in the wider biomedical community interested in discovering new drugs and improving patient care. We look forward to an exciting two days of talks and discussion.

Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD | Director, Cardiovascular Institute


George Addona, PhD

Senior VP and Head of Discovery, Preclinical Development, and Translational Medicine, Merck

Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD

Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor, Stanford University

Rob Califf, MD

Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Don Cleveland, PhD

Department Chair and Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine, University of California San Diego

Paulo Fontoura, MD, PhD

Global Head and SVP of Neuroscience, Immunology, Ophthalmology, and Rare Diseases, Roche

Karin Immergluck, PhD

Director, Stanford Office of Technology and Licensing

Michelle Longmire, MD

Chief Executive Officer, Co-Founder, Medable

Fady Malik, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President of Research & Development, Cytokinetics

Flavius Martin, MD

Executive Vice President of Research, Gilead Sciences

Yevgeniya Nusinovich, MD, PhD

Science Editor, Science Magazine

Camille Samuels, MBA

Partner, Venrock

Daniel Skovronsky, MD, PhD

CSO and Pres., Lilly Research Labs; Pres., Immunology, Eli Lilly and Company

Gregory Verdine, PhD

Erving Professor of Chemistry, Harvard University

Sharon Barr, PhD

Executive Vice President, BioPharmaceuticals R&D, AstraZeneca

Paul Biondi, MBA

Executive Partner and President of Pioneering Medicine, Flagship Pioneering

Rosa Canet-Avilés, PhD

Vice President, Scientific Programs & Education, California Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Marianne De Backer, MSc, PhD, MBA

Chief Executive Officer and Director, Vir Biotechnology

Julie Grant, MBA, MPhil

General Partner, Canaan Partners

Joe Jimenez, MBA

Co-Founder and Managing Director, Aditum Bio

Thomas Lynch, MD

President and Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD

Chief Executive Officer, President, and Chairman, FogPharma

Lloyd Minor, MD

Carl and Elizabeth Naumann Professorship for the Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Robert Plenge, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President, Chief Research Officer, Head of Research, Bristol Myers Squibb

Wade Shen

Director of Proactive Health Office, Advanced Research Projects Agency for Health

Andrew Trister, MD, PhD

Chief Medical Officer and Chief Scientific Officer, Verily Life Sciences

Michelle Williams, ScD

Joan and Julius Jacobson Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Hal Barron, MD

Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Altos Labs

Paul Burton, MD, PhD

Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Amgen

Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD

Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, Food and Drug Administration

Michael Devoy, MD

CMO and EVP of Medical Affairs and Pharmacovigilance for the Pharmaceuticals Division, Bayer

Aida Habtezion, MD

Chief Medical Officer and Head of Worldwide Medical and Safety, Pfizer

Hallie Kuhn, PhD

Senior Vice President, Alexandria Venture Investments

Grace Han McMahon

Associate Vice President, Pacific Business Development & Licensing, Merck

Peter Marks, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research, Food and Drug Administration

Deep Nishar, MBA

Managing Director, General Catalyst

Joni Rutter, PhD

Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, National Institutes of Health

Abhishek Shukla

Managing Director, Prosperity7 Ventures

Andrea van Elsas, PhD

Partner, Third Rock Ventures

Bei Zhang, PhD

Corporate Vice President & TA Head, Diabetes, Obesity, & MASH (DO&M), Global Drug Discovery, Novo Nordisk

Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Catherine Boileau, PhD, PharmD

Emeritus Professor of Genetics, Medical School of Paris Cité University, Inserm UMR1148 LVTS Research Center, Bichat University Hospital

Helen Hobbs, MD     

Philip O'Bryan Montgomery Jr., MD, Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology
Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair for the Study of Human Growth and Development
UT Southwestern Medical Center


All times listed are PT

Event Program & Poster


Foundation Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Media Partners


Amanda Chase, PhD

Associate Director of Strategic Research Development
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

Kuldev Singh, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Sanjay Malhotra, PhD

Professor, Cell, Developmental & Cancer Biology; Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics

Joseph Wu, MD, PhD

Director, Stanford CVI
Simon H. Stertzer, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine and Radiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Mark Mercola, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Francesca Mae G. Tongco, MS-HCA

Project Coordinator
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

For additional information, please contact Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD, or Francesca Tongco.