Paul Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center, Stanford University

(Zoom option available)

Welcome to 2023 Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium. This symposium provides a valuable and important platform for inspiring interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research and will support a fantastic networking experience. It provides a great resource for researchers, pharmaceutical companies, investment groups, and those in the wider biomedical community interested in discovering new drugs and improving patient care. We look forward to an exciting two days of talks and discussion.

Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD | Director, Cardiovascular Institute


Hal Barron, MD

CEO, Altos Labs

Nancy Brown

CEO, American Heart Association

Kevin Conroy, JD

Chairman and CEO, Exact Sciences

Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD

CSO and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical, Pfizer

Alexander Hardy, MBA

CEO, Genentech

Fady Malik, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President of Research & Development, Cytokinetics

Fiona Marshall, PhD

President, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

Frank O. Nestle, MD, FMedSci

Global Head of Research, Chief Scientific Officer, Sanofi

Andrew Plump, MD, PhD

President, R&D, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Jim Tananbaum, MD

CEO and Founder, Foresite Capital Management, LLC

Monica Beam, PhD

Senior Vice President, Science & Technology, Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Namandje Bumpus, PhD

Chief Scientist, FDA

Louis J. DeGennaro, PhD

President & CEO, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Levi Garraway, MD, PhD

Executive VP, Head of Product Development, and Chief Medical Officer, Genentech/Roche

Najat Khan, PhD

Chief Data Science Officer & Global Head, Strategy and Operations, R&D, The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson and Johnson

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President, Pharmaceuticals, R&D, Johnson & Johnson

Maria T. Millan, MD

President and CEO, CIRM

Daniel O’Day, MBA

Chairman and CEO, Gilead Sciences

George W. Sledge, MD

Executive Vice President and CMP, Caris Life Sciences

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD

President and Bing Presidential Professor
Stanford University

Robert A. Bradway, MBA

Chairman & CEO, Amgen

Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD

Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, FDA

Francis deSouza, MA

CEO Illumina

Aida Habtezion, MD

CMO and Head of Worldwide Medical & Safety, Pfizer

John Lepore, MD

Senior Vice President of Research, GlaxoSmithKline

Peter Marks, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Lloyd Minor, MD

Carl and Elizabeth Naumann Professorship for the Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Merdad Parsey, MD, PhD

Chief Medical Officer, Gilead

Lip-Bu Tan, MBA

Managing Partner, Walden Catalyst

Steve Yang, PhD

Co-CEO, WuXi AppTec

Fireside Chat with Nobel Laureates

Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2022; Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H

Paul Berg, PhD

Nobel Laureate 1980; Robert W. and Vivian K. Cahill Professor of Research, Emeritus, Stanford University

Jennifer Doudna, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2020; Li Ka Shing Chancellor’s Chair Professor at UC Berkeley

Roger Kornberg, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2006; Mrs. George A. Winzer Professor of Medicine, Stanford University

Brian Kobilka, MD

Nobel Laureate 2012; Helene Irwin Fagan Chair of Cardiology, Stanford University

Lifetime Achievement Awardee

Brian Druker, MD

Jeld-Wen Chair of Leukemia Research and Director, Knight Cancer Institute, Oregon Health & Science University


Amanda Chase, PhD

Associate Director of Strategic Research Development
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

Kuldev Singh, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Sanjay Malhotra, PhD

Professor, Cell, Developmental & Cancer Biology; Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics

Joseph Wu, MD, PhD

Director, Stanford CVI
Simon H. Stertzer, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine and Radiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Mark Mercola, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Media Sponsors

For additional information, please contact Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD, or Francesca Tongco.