Excellence and innovation in research endeavors



Research in the division is broad based and encompasses fundamental laboratory based research, clinical/translational research and research in education.  The broad categories of research endeavors include:

  • Human microbiome in health and disease — David Relman MD
  • Global health and tropical medicine — Jason Andrews MD, Steven Luby, MD, Prasanna Jagannathan MD, Cybele Renault MD, Julie Parsonnet MD, Upi Singh MD, Shanti Kappagoda MD DTM H, Brian Blackburn MD
  • Immune response to infections — Catherine Blish MD PhD, Paul Bollyky MD PhD, Prasanna Jagannathan MD, Taia Wang MD
  • Chronic diseases associated with infection or immune responses — Hector Bonilla MD
  • Viral infections, including Hepatitis C, Ebola, dengue — Shirit Einav MD, Mark Holodniy MD, Taia Wang MD
  • HIV therapy and antiretroviral resistance — Robert Shafer MD, Philip Grant MD
  • Pathogenesis of Entamoeba histolytica — Upinder Singh MD
  • Transplant associated infectious diseases — Dora Ho PhD MD, Aruna Subramanian MD
  • New diagnostics in clinical microbiology and virology  — Niaz Banaei MD (Pathology), Benjamin Pinsky MD PhD (Pathology)
  • Antibiotic stewardship — Stanley Deresinski MD, Marisa Holubar MD, Amy Chang MD
  • Hospital epidemiology and molecular epidemiology of healthcare associated infections — Lucy S Tompkins MD PhD (Stanford), Aarthi Chary MD (PAVAH), Jorge Salinas MD


For more information about each faculty’s research focus, please go to the Stanford University CAP profiles.

Click for Postdoc Opportunities

From OPA Postdoc Postings

Clinical Care and Teaching

Several faculty are primarily focused on clinical care and teaching in three infectious diseases consulting clinical services at Stanford (General Infectious Diseases, Immunocompromised Host Service, and ICU-ID).

This includes: Brian Blackburn MD, Stanley Deresinski MD, David Epstein MD, Dora Ho MD,  Marisa Holubar MD, Shanthi Kappagoda MD, Jessica Ferguson MD, Joanna Nelson MD, Andrew Nevins MD, Cybele Renault MD, Aruna Subramanian MD, Jenny Aronson MD, Amy Chang MD, Orlando Quintero MD, Jake Scott MD, Daisuke Furukawa MD, and Dean Winslow MD

Administrative and Leadership Positions

In addition, faculty in the division hold important administrative and leadership positions in the School of Medicine, the University, and Stanford Hospitals and Clinics and the Palo Alta Veterans Administration Hospital:

Division Chief

Clinical Chief

Stanford Center for Innovation in Global Health

Michele Barry, MD - Director

Stephen Luby MD - Director of Research

Internal Medicine Residency Program for Global Health

Cybele Renault MD - Program Lead

MSTP Program, School of Medicine

Catherine Blish MD - Assistant Director

Co-Director, Center for International Security and Cooperation (CISAC)

Chair, Administrative Panel on Biosafety

Co-Chair, Administrative Panel on Biosafety

Chair, California Consortium for the Assessment of Clinical Competence

Associate Course Director, Practice of Medicine

Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Stanford Hospital and Clinics

Stanley Deresinski MD

Marisa Holubar, MD

Hospital Epidemiology/ Stanford Infection Prevention & Control Department

Lucy S Tompkins MD PhD/Director

Marisa Holubar MD/Assoc. Director