Paul & Mildred Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center, Stanford
and virtual option

Welcome to 2024 Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium. This symposium provides a valuable and important platform for inspiring interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research and will support a fantastic networking experience. It provides a great resource for researchers, pharmaceutical companies, investment groups, and those in the wider biomedical community interested in discovering new drugs and improving patient care. We look forward to an exciting two days of talks and discussion.

Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD | Director, Cardiovascular Institute

Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Helen Hobbs, MD     

Philip O'Bryan Montgomery Jr., MD, Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology
Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair for the Study of Human Growth and Development
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Catherine Boileau, PhD, PharmD

Chair of Genetics Department
Bichat University Hospital


George Addona, PhD

Senior VP and Head of Discovery, Preclinical Development, and Translational Medicine, Merck

Rob Califf, MD

Commissioner of Food and Drugs, FDA

Paulo Fontoura, MD, PhD

Global Head and SVP of Neuroscience, Immunology, Ophthalmology, and Rare Diseases, Roche

Richard Klausner, MD

Chief Scientist and Founder, Altos Labs

Karen Nelson, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer, Thermo Fisher Scientific

David Rhew, MD

Global Chief Medical Officer, VP Healthcare, Worldwide Commercial, Microsoft

Gregory Verdine, PhD

Erving Professor of Chemistry, Harvard

Sharon Barr, PhD

EVP, BioPharmaceuticals, R&D, AstraZeneca

Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD

Director of the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), FDA

Julie Grant, MBA, MPhil

General Partner

Thomas Lynch, MD

President and Director, Fred Hutch Cancer Center

Shyam Patel, PhD

Senior Director of Business Development and Alliance Management, CIRM

Joni Rutter, PhD

Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), NIH

Anne Wojcicki

Co-Founder and CEO, 23andMe

Paul Burton, MD, PhD

Chief Medical Officer, Amgen

Don Cleveland, PhD

Department Chair and Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine, UCSD

Aida Habtezion, MD

CMO and Head of Worldwide Medical & Safety, Pfizer

Peter Marks, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), FDA

Robert Plenge, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President, Chief Research Officer, Head of Research Bristol Myers Squibb

Daniel Skovronsky, MD, PhD

President Lilly Research Labs, Chief Scientific and Medical Officer, Eli Lilly and Co.

Bei Zhang, PhD

Corporate Vice President, Novo Nordisk


Amanda Chase, PhD

Associate Director of Strategic Research Development
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

Kuldev Singh, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Sanjay Malhotra, PhD

Professor, Cell, Developmental & Cancer Biology; Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics

Joseph Wu, MD, PhD

Director, Stanford CVI
Simon H. Stertzer, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine and Radiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Mark Mercola, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Francesca Mae G. Tongco, MS-HCA

Project Coordinator
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

For additional information, please contact Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD, or Francesca Tongco.