Program Directors

Kim Butts Pauly, PhD



Norbert Pelc, ScD 



Steering Committee

Meets quarterly.  In Winter and Spring quarters, selects students to participate in the program. Selected trainees pair with a Steering Committee member in addition to the students’ research advisors. The composition of the Steering Committee was designed to provide excellent expertise while representing the breadth of imaging research at Stanford.

Kim Butts Pauly, PhD – represents MRI and image-guided intervention

Norbert Pelc, ScD – represents X-Ray and CT

Daniel Ennis, PhD - represents MRI

Kathy Ferrara, PhD - represents ultrasound and molecular imaging

Garry Gold, MD – represents clinical collaboration

Pierre Khuri-Yakub, PhD– represents ultrasound

Advisory Board

Jennifer Cochran

Jennifer Cochran PhD, Professor, Bioengineering, Chair of Bioengineering , Stanford University

John Gore

John Gore, PhD, Professor of Radiology,  Biomedical Engineering, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Physics and Astronomy, Vanderbilt University

Yvonne (Bonnie) Maldonado

Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Develoment and Diversity, Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases), Stanford University

Michael McNitt-Gray

Professor of Radiology, Thoracic Imaging Section, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Radiation Safety, Program Chair Interdepartmental Graduate Program in Biomedical Physics, University of California, Los Angeles.


Kathryn Nightingale

Kathryn Nightingale PhD, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Duke University

Joseph Wu

Joe Wu, MD, PhD, Professor of Cardiology, Director Cardiovascular Institute, Stanford University