Stanford Medicine

An academic medical center, Stanford Medicine comprises three entities: Stanford University School of Medicine; Stanford Health Care; and Stanford Children’s Health and Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford. Our mission is tripartite: to promote fundamental, clinical, and translational discovery; to train the leaders of tomorrow; and to transform patient care.

Under the umbrella of Stanford Medicine, we share a common aspiration to improve human health during this time of unprecedented possibilities in biomedicine. We believe that the patient is at the center of what we do — and that to provide the best care for every patient requires pushing the boundaries of discovery, mentoring the next generation of leaders, and delivering compassionate and coordinated care.

Stanford Medicine has a bold vision to lead the biomedical revolution in Precision Health. By leveraging emerging disciplines from biomedical data science to health care value science, we are developing and defining this next generation of health care that is focused on keeping people healthy and providing care that is tailored to individual variations. We call this Precision Health. It’s predictive, proactive, personalized, and patient-centered.

Ruijin Hospital, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine

Ruijin Hospital (RJH) is an integrated teaching hospital (ranked 3A) affiliated with the Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine. As a public medical center, RJH is committed to the principle “Greatness in Compassion, Persistence in Excellence” and is devoted to saving lives, improving public health, and providing quality health care. RJH’s present development strategy is to build state-of-the-art facilities, hire talented staff, and promote scientific innovation and education in order to continue its growth as a modern hospital that provides world-class medical services.

Established in 1907 by Kiangnan Mission of Catholic Church at Route Pere Robert (currently known as Ruijin Er Road) in Shanghai, Ruijin Hospital, formerly known as Kuangtse Hospital (L’Hôpital Sainte-Marie in French), is a general teaching hospital (ranked 3A). The hospital operates 1,693 staffed beds, covering 34 clinical departments and employing more than 3,500 health professionals. For over 100 years, Ruijin Hospital has been offering mercy in variety and persists in excellence, renowned for dedicated effort to the wellness enhancement of human life. The hospital offers sophisticated expertise in medicine, surgery, and basic sciences. Presently three academicians are working at Ruijin Hospital, seeking more fundamental cure: Dr. Wang Zhenyi, of the Chinese Academy of Engineering; Dr. Chen Zhu, of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; and Dr. Chen Saijuan, of the Chinese Academy of Engineering.  

Ruijin Hospital manages certain research entities: nine research institutes (endocrinology, hematology, traumatology and orthopedics, burns, hypertension, digestive surgery, neurology, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases and respiratory disease); 11 laboratories, among which are a state key laboratory (Key Laboratory of Medical Genome) and two key laboratories of the Ministry of Public Health (Key Laboratory of Endocrine and Metabolic Diseases and Key Laboratory of the Human Genome); three clinical medical centers (Shanghai Micro-Traumatic Surgery Clinical Medical Center, Shanghai Endocrine and Metabolic Diseases Clinical Medical Center, and Shanghai Hematology Clinical Medical Center); and eight state bases for clinical research in drugs.

Salk Institute for Biological Studies

The Salk Institute for Biological Studies is one of the world’s preeminent basic research institutions, where internationally renowned faculty probe fundamental life science questions in a unique, collaborative, and creative environment. Focused on both scientific discovery and mentoring future generations of researchers, Salk scientists make groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of cancer, aging, Alzheimer’s, diabetes, and infectious diseases by studying neuroscience, genetics, cellular and plant biology, and related disciplines. Faculty achievements have been recognized with numerous honors, including the Nobel Prize, the Wolf Prize, the Lasker Prize, National Academy of Science memberships, designation as HHMI Investigators, and many more. Founded in 1960 by polio vaccine pioneer Jonas Salk, MD, the Institute is an independent, nonprofit organization and architectural landmark in San Diego, California.

Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine

Founded in 1952 during the nationwide reorganization of institutes of higher education, Shanghai Second Medical College was a merger of the School of Medicine of St. John’s University (1896–1952), the Medical College of Aurora University (1918–1952), and the Tong-De Medical College, three long-standing medical institutions. In 1985, the school was renamed Shanghai Second Medical University. In July 2005, under an agreement signed by the Shanghai Municipal Government and the Ministry of Education, Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Shanghai Second Medical University, both with a long history, were merged into one. The new medical school was named Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine (SJTUSM). Adhering to the fine tradition of accepting and adopting the best of all schools of thought and learning the merits of all kinds of practices, as well as carrying forward the spirit of exploring medical science to the limit through diligence and dedication, SJTUSM has developed its own educational style and characteristics. Since the merging of the two universities, while continuing its pursuit of the relief of human suffering and the perfection of health, SJTUSM has incorporated Jiao Tong University’s ideal of “bearing in mind the source of happiness and bringing credit to the school by serving the country.”