Additional SFDC Program: Medical Decision Making

Between 1986 and 1999, four to six medical faculty per year were trained as Medical Decision Making (MDM) seminar facilitators. The 1-month, facilitator-training course provided participants with the background knowledge and seminar leadership skills they needed to deliver a series of 2-hour seminars to their colleagues and residents. The MDM curriculum covered the following concepts: Overview & Probability Assessment, Evaluating Test Performance, Calculating Posttest Probability, Decision Trees, Assessing Patient Preference, Threshold Model, and Cost-Effectiveness Analysis.

The seminars were designed to instruct faculty and residents in basic MDM concepts and techniques, and on ways these medical teachers could pass this information on to medical trainees during clinical teaching interactions. The seminars were consistently well received. Evaluations showed that both faculty and resident participants found the seminars highly useful and would recommend them to others. The faculty trained at Stanford were given high ratings as seminar leaders. Through the years, participants reported that 70-80% of the material was "new." The impact on participants' knowledge, attitudes, and skills was positive, including: significant gains in knowledge of MDM concepts; significant increases in self-reported ability to perform MDM tasks; and significant increases in reported inclusion of MDM topics when teaching housestaff.

Program Faculty (1986-99):
Harold Sox, Jr., MD; Douglas Owens, MD; Merlynn Bergen, PhD; and MDM program alumni

                                List of Trained MDM Facilitators

46 Institutions 58 Facilitators Year
Baystate Medical Center, Springfield, MA Andre Midgette 1988
Case Western Reserve, Cleveland, OH Richard Bailey 1998
Duke University, Durham, NC Lia Logio 1997
East Carolina University, Greenville, NC Harry Adams
Deborah Proctor
Highland General Hospital, Oakland, CA Roger Peeks 1993
Kawasaki University, Okayama, JAPAN Nobutaro Ban 1995
Keesler USAF Medical Center, Biloxi, MS Diane Clarke 1990
Letterman Army Med Center, Presidio of San Francisco, CA Nick Ninos
Roscoe Whitaker
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA Anne Whitehurst 1993
Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI Gustavo Heudebert 1990
Nagoya University School of Medicine, Nagoya, JAPAN Katsuo Yamanaka 1999
National Yang-Ming University, Taipai, TAIWAN Benjamin Kuo 1999
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, VA Ann Yoshihashi 1996
Naval Medical Center San Diego, CA Patricia Pepper 1997
New York University School of Medicine, NY, NY Anne Dembitzer 1994
Northwestern University, Chicago, IL Robert Golub 1987
Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, OR David Nardone 1986
Oxford University, Oxford, ENGLAND David Lawrence 1995
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, San Jose, CA Thomas Kelsey 1986
Stanford University Jonathan Schapiro
James Hallenbeck
Lucile Salter Packard Children's Hospital Ted Sectish
Neyssa Marina
SUNY Stony Brook Lawrence Smith
Joanne Holland
Uniformed Services Univ. of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, MD Jerome Herbers 1987
University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL Stuart Cohen 1999
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ Lisa Kaufmann 1991
University of Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA Jorge Lantos
Raul Ceitlin
University of California, Davis, CA Glen Lillington
Sonia Sutherland
University of California, Los Angeles, CA Scott Votey
Jofel Magadia Yan
Maga Jackson
University of California, San Diego, CA Timothy Dresselhaus 1993
University of California, San Francisco, CA Judith Walsh
Clarence Braddock, III
University of Florence, Florence, ITALY Marisa Di Donato 1997
University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA George Bergus
Ellen Gordon
University of Lleida, Lleida, SPAIN Jesus Montoliu 1995
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN Wesley Miller 1999
University of Missouri-Kansas City, MO Diane Harper 1994
University of Nevada, Reno, NV Steven Zell 1994
University of New Mexico/ Albuquerque VAMC, NM Alan Halperin 1993
University of Oklahoma , Tulsa , OK David Potts 1990
University of Ottawa, CANADA John Henderson 1988
University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX Thomas Blackwell
Clarence Jernigan
University of Texas, San Antonio, TX John Sawyer 1988
University of Wisconsin Medical School, Milwaukee, WI Virginia Gennis 1988
Wayne State University, Detroit, MI Paul Werner 1994
West Virginia University, Morgantown, WVa Herbert Ward 1991
Wright-Patterson Air Force Medical Center, OH Steve McDonald 1988
Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT Sue Goldie 1995