Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Symposium

Monday 5/15/2023 at 3:30pm-5pm
500P assembly hall and patio on the 3rd floor 

Time Description
3:30PM - 3:35PM Welcome with Lisa Shieh, MD, PhD, FHM
3:35PM – 3:45PM Opening Remarks with David Entwistle, and David Larson MD
3:45PM - 5:00PM Poster session & Judging
5:00PM - 5:02PM Closing remarks Lisa Shieh, MD, PhD, FHM
5:02PM - 5:30PM Deliberation of Top Presentations

This year we are combining the annual Resident Safety Council Quality Improvement Symposium with an opportunity to showcase the work of graduates of Cohorts 1 and 2 of the SMCI Advanced Course in Improvement Science (ACIS).  Many of our school of medicine, SHC and SCH leaders will be invited such as Lloyd Minor, Paul King and David Enwistle, along with department chairs and program directors.

We will continue to have judging by faculty and QI/SHC leadership and $100 SHC gift certificate awards will be given to top abstracts/posters! 

RSC Executive Team / QIPSS Planning committee

Faculty Leads: Lisa Shieh

Co-Chairs:  Katherine Xiong and Garrison Carlos

Education Chair: Mark Keroles

Communications Vice Chair:

Nursing Lead: Barbara Mayer and Trish Britt

Health IT Chair: Stephen Ma

Health Equity Chair: Claire Baniel

Executive Director of GME: Ann Dohn

Associate Dean of GME: Larry Katznelson MD

GME program manager: Trey Huynh-Ngo 

RSC Program Coordinator: Luisa Fernandez

GME Training Coordinator: Matt O’Neill


Chief Judges:

Patricia Britt

Lauren Destino

Laurice Yang MD

David Larson MD 


Aimee Torbela

Allen Orsi

Amy Chang

Ann Weinacker

Ben Elkins

Bilwa Buchake

Carl Gold

Christopher Sharp

Elidia Tafoya

Fahmeedah Kamal

Inna Kaplan

Kanishka Desai

Katherine Sanborn

Lauren Eggert

Lisa Morse

Margaret Wang

Marianne Yeung

Marisa Holubar

May Riley

Meghan Marmor

Michele DeNatale

Nathalie Cheng

Paden Angelo

Paul Heidenreich

Roxanne Hyke

Shelagh Nolan

Shenee Laurence

Stacy Serber

Yanli Jiang


David Entwistle
President and Chief Executive Officer, Stanford Medicine, Stanford Health Care
Co-Executive Director of SMCI, Chief Quality Officer, Stanford Medicine Health Care
Chief Quality Officer, Stanford Medicine Children’s Health
Chief Medical Officer, Stanford Medicine Health Care
Professor of Neurosurgery, Emeritus