Faculty Awards

Latest Faculty Awards

Irving L. Weissman, MD

Professor of Pathology, Developmental Biology & (by courtesy)
Biological Sciences  Neurosurgery, Director for the Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Virginia and K.K. Ludwig Professor for Clinical Investigation in Cancer Research, Associate Director, Cancer Institute

Stem Cell Researcher Irving Weissman Awarded Albany Prize

Irving Weissman, MD, director of Stanford’s Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, will receive the 2019 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research for his pioneering work in stem cell and cancer biology, including the identification of blood-forming stem cells and their role in blood cancers, as well as the discovery of a “don’t eat me” signal on the surface of many cancer cells that protects them from being eliminated by the immune system.

Read the full article here at Stanford Medicine News >>

Stephen Montgomery, PhD

Associate Professor of Pathology and Genetics

ASHG Honors Stephen Montgomery with Early-Career Award

The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) has named Stephen Montgomery, PhD, as the recipient of the 2019 Early-Career Award. Dr. Montgomery is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Genetics, Pathology, and Computer Science at Stanford University School of Medicine.

This award recognizes the contributions of genetics and genomics scientists in the first ten years of their careers as independent investigators. ASHG will present the award, which will include a plaque and $10,000 prize, on Tuesday, October 15, during the organization’s 69th Annual Meeting in Houston, Texas

Florette Kimberly Gray Hazard, MD

Associate Professor of Pathology and Pediatrics

Florette Gray Hazard was accepted into the APC Pathology Leadership Academy as Chair of the Workshop Subcommittee

Kim will be tasked with leading the CME/SAM educational efforts of our national society and ensuring that our members and guests are kept abreast of the new advancements in the field of pediatric and perinatal pathology.

Kim was an attendee in the prestigious Advanced Course in Pediatric Pathology sponsored by the International Pediatric Pathology Association and was appointed as the Children’s Oncology Group national pathologist for the United States. In that role, she will be working on a new collaborative clinical trial investigating pediatric germ cell tumors.

Other international investigators will also participate in companion trials, with one national pathologist appointed from each country.

This group is part of the Education Committee for the Society for Pediatric Pathology.

Chia-Sui (Sunny) Kao, MD

Assistant Professor of Pathology and Urology

Sunny was awarded the ASCP's 2016 40 Under Forty

The ASCP 40 Under Forty program recognizes members under the age of 40 for their achievements and leadership qualities that are making an impact on pathology and laboratory medicine. Forty pathologists, laboratory professionals and residents are chosen annually through an application or nomination process. The program has recognized worthy members of the laboratory team both nationally and internationally. From the 40 Under Forty honorees, five individuals will be selected as the 40 Under Forty Top Five through a combination of public voting and committee selection.

Faculty Teaching Awards

John Higgins, MD

2019 AP Senior Faculty Teaching Award

Greg Charville, MD, PhD

2019 AP Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Yasodha Natkunam, MD, PhD

2019 CP Senior Faculty Teaching Award

Jean Oak, MD, PhD

2019 CP Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Distinguished Faculty Awards