Application Procedure

Applications for the Stanford Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Program are accepted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS). ERAS will open for application submission on July 1, 2022. 

  • Apply on or after July 1st if you wish to be considered for a fellowship spot beginning July 1, 2023.
Date Activity
June 8, 2022 ERAS 2022 season begins
July 1, 2022 July cycle fellowship program starts for submission of applications.
July 2022 Fellowship program start review of applications. Virtual interviews will occur August - October 2022.
August-October 2022 Fellowship program holds virtual interviews that will occur August - October 2022.
  • We will be offering virtual video interviews for the upcoming interview season for the fellowship program starting in 2023.

To begin your application, please follow the ERAS Fellowships Documents Office instructions found here. Please be sure to register with both ERAS and NRMP in order to be eligible for the Match. You can register with NRMP by going to the NRMP Website. Please note you will need to use your AAMC ID from your ERAS application to register for the NRMP. Applicants should request three letters of recommendation from faculty members who are familiar with their work and can speak to their interest in Palliative care. We recommend that applicants currently in residency/fellowship or who have recently finished their training have one of their letters be from their Residency/Fellowship Program Director. 

Stanford University can sponsor J-1 visas through our International Students and Scholars Office.

The Palliative NRMP Program Code is 1820540F0

ALERT: Please note that all application materials must be submitted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS).

Please submit applications by August 15, 2022.

The Stanford University Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship is a one-year ACGME accredited training program in Hospice and Palliative Medicine (HPM). 

We accept candidates from the fields of Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine,  Neurology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Psychiatry, and Surgery .