Mentoring Champions

Faculty Mentoring Champions are a network of committed colleagues from across basic sciences and clinical departments.

The Faculty Mentoring Champions are advocates, sponsors, and resources for high-quality mentoring of faculty in their areas and across the school. The Champions first met in Spring 2019 and will continue meet to discuss initiatives, share best practices, give feedback, explore opportunities for interdepartmental collaborations, and make recommendations within their departments and to the School leadership.  Presentations and documentation from recent meetings can be accessed here.

2024 Mentoring Champions

Anesthesia Brendan Carvalho
Bioengineering Markus Covert
Cardiothoracic Surgery Leah Backhus
Dermatology Kristin Nord
Emergency Medicine Jody Vogel
Emergency Medicine Sarah Williams
Epidemiology and Population Health

Michelle Odden


Glenn Chertow

Microbiology and Immunology

John Boothroyd

Neurology and Neurological Sciences Brenda Porter
Neurology and Neurological Sciences Paul George
Neurology and Neurological Sciences Shannon Kilgore

Gordon Li

Obstetrics and Gynecology Kate Shaw
Obstetrics and Gynecology Nichole Tyson
Ophthalmology Quan Dong Nguyen
Orthopaedic Surgery

Loretta Chou

Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Kara Meister
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Teresa Nicolson
Pathology Steve Galli
Pediatrics Sarah Hilgenberg
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Alan Louie
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Karen Parker

Radiology Luke Yoon
Radiation Oncology Edward Graves
Surgery Peter Lorenz
Surgery Stephanie Chao
Urology Jim Brooks