Latest information on COVID-19

Seven Stanford Medicine faculty members appointed to endowed professorships

Daniel Chang, Howard Chang, Christopher Garcia, Amy Ladd, William Maloney, Geoffrey Tabin and Jerome Yesavage have been appointed to endowed professorships at the School of Medicine.

Daniel Chang

Daniel Chang, MD, professor of radiation oncology, was appointed the Sue and Bob McCollum Professor, effective Oct. 3. His clinical and research focus is on the treatment of gastrointestinal cancer using a variety of strategies, including stereotactic body radiotherapy, functional imaging and image-guided radiotherapy.

The professorship was created by Sue and Bob McCollum to support a faculty member in the Department of Radiation Oncology. Sue McCollum founded My Blue Dots, a nonprofit organization that supports cancer research. Bob McCollum is chair and CEO of R.S. Hughes Company Inc., a Sunnyvale-based industrial supplier.

Howard Chang

Howard Chang, MD, PhD, professor of dermatology, was appointed the Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor of Cancer Genomics, effective Oct. 3. His research interests include epigenetics, RNA biology and the regulation of genes that determine cell fate.

The professorship was created to support a researcher who focuses on the biomedical applications of RNA biology. It is one of six professorships established with funding from the estate of Daniel K. Ludwig, a shipping magnate and financier who established the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, which encompasses Ludwig Centers at six U.S. institutions, including Stanford.

Christopher Garcia

Christopher Garcia, PhD, professor of molecular and cellular physiology and of structural biology, was appointed the Younger Family Professor, effective Oct. 3. He studies molecular mechanisms of receptor signaling pathways related to immunology and stem cell biology.

The professorship was created by Bill and Brenda Younger to support a basic science faculty member who is conducting biomedical research that could lead to clinical applications of widespread benefit. Bill Younger earned an MBA from Stanford and is a director emeritus of Sutter Hill Ventures. He is a member of the Stanford Medicine cabinet. Brenda Younger is a retired teacher.

Amy Ladd

Amy Ladd, MD, professor of orthopaedic surgery, was appointed the Elsbach-Richards Professor in Surgery, effective Oct. 3. She specializes in hand surgery, and her research focuses on deciphering the progression and improving treatment of common basilar thumb arthritis.

The professorship was created to support a faculty member who specializes in the translation of basic science into the practice of surgery. Robert Herman Elsbach, who owned a confection and champagne distributing business, was a patient of the late Stanford surgeon Victor Richards, MD, who died in 2002. Elsbach also provided support for the Elsbach-Shenson Scholarship Fund for School of Medicine students.

William Maloney

William Maloney, MD, professor and chair of orthopaedic surgery, was appointed the Boswell Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery, effective Oct. 3. His research focuses on understanding why surgically replaced joints fail. His clinical interests include hip and knee replacement surgeries.

The professorship was created to support a renowned faculty member in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and to advance orthopaedic surgery research. The funding came from the James G. Boswell Foundation, established in 1947 by Boswell, who founded a farm and agricultural supply business. His son, James W. Boswell, is now president of the foundation, which has been a longtime supporter of medicine at Stanford.

Geoffrey Tabin

Geoffrey Tabin, MD, professor of ophthalmology, was appointed the Fairweather Foundation Professor, effective Oct. 3. He is a cornea and cataract specialist whose work focuses on reducing global blindness and developing systems of eye care in Asia and Africa. He is the co-founder of the Himalayan Cataract Project.

The professorship was created to support ophthalmic care, teaching, research and infrastructure development in the field of global ophthalmology. The Fairweather Foundation is managed by Arthur and Joanne Hall. Arthur Hall earned an MBA from Stanford and worked as a hedge fund manager at Valerian Associates. He serves on the board of overseers of the Hoover Institution. Joanne Hall is a retired nurse.

Jerome Yesavage

Jerome Yesavage, MD, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, was appointed the Jared and Mae Tinklenberg Professor, effective June 15. He directs the Aging Clinical Research Center and is the associate chief of staff for mental health at the Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System. His interests include geriatric depression, age-associated cognitive decline and sleep disorders related to aging.

The professorship was created by Karla Tinklenberg Jurvetson, MD, and Stephen Jurvetson to honor Karla’s parents, Jared Tinklenberg, MD, professor emeritus of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Stanford, and Mae Tinklenberg. It is intended to support research and clinical work in aging and mental health.

Stanford Medicine integrates research, medical education and health care at its three institutions - Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Health Care (formerly Stanford Hospital & Clinics), and Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford. For more information, please visit the Office of Communication & Public Affairs site at

2021 ISSUE 2

Unlocking the secrets of the brain

COVID-19 Updates

Stanford Medicine is closely monitoring the outbreak of novel coronavirus (COVID-19). A dedicated page provides the latest information and developments related to the pandemic.