Raffel Award

Each year the Department of Microbiology and Immunology chooses a graduating student to receive The Professor Sidney Raffel Award for Outstanding Accomplishment in Graduate Study.

The Raffel award is made possible by a fund established by Dr. Benjamin Siegel (Ph.D., 1950), who completed graduate study in the M&I program years ago.  Dr. Siegel named this award in honor of Professor Sidney Raffel to acknowledge his many contributions to the University and Department.  Dr. Raffel retired from a long and distinguished career at Stanford from 1935-1976 as teacher, scholar, investigator, and as Chair.

“To overtake Louis Pasteur is difficult, but the race is exhilarating” 
Sidney Raffel

Raffel Award Recipients

Outstanding Accomplishment in Graduate Study

1997    Raphael Valdivia
1998    Michael Black
1999    Mike Wilson          
2000    Anthea Lee
2001    Denise Monack    
2002    John Lyle
2003    Joel Nielson
2004    Mike Cleary
2005    Karine Gibbs
2006    Jenny Kanter
2007    Ryan McFarlane
2008    Janelle Ayres
2009    Mickey Pentecost
2010    Poornima Parameswaran
2011    Kaitian Peng
2012    Erin Simonds
2013    Jennifer Brady
2014    Jessica Ferreyra
2015    Lilian Lam
2016    Samuel Smits
2017    Elizabeth Stanley Shepherd
2018    Amanda Jacobson