Latest information on COVID-19

Welcome to the Stanford-Meharry Initiative Research Retreat!

We are pleased to showcase the summer research projects conducted virtually by Meharry Medical College medical students and Stanford University School of Medicine research mentors.  

The Stanford-Meharry Initiative was instituted in 2017 under the direction of Dr. Abraham Verghese in the Department of Medicine to build a lasting collaboration between the institutions and to expose Meharry medical students to cutting edge research being conducted at Stanford.  This year, research mentors from the Departments of Medicine, Radiology and Pathology participated in this effort hosting a record 23 medical students!  We hope you enjoy this interactive and informative retreat.

  • The retreat is a live virtual event that will be held via ZOOM and Virtual Poster Sessions
  • Duration: 4 hours
  • 2 distinguished keynote speakers will give a 15 minute talks (speakers & subjects to be determined) with a 5 minute Q&A session
  • All Meharry students will create a 3-5 minute pre-recorded video presentation of their work. Your video will be viewed during the time of the retreat and you will have a Q&A session with other attendees
  • Awards will be handed out in two categories
  • All Meharry students will receive a participation certificate

 

Winners of this year's Stanford-Meharry Initiative Retreat

Held on October 12, 2021

Matthew Burke, BS, MHS

Student, Meharry Medical College

People's Choice Award
(for outstanding abstract,
poster and oral Presentation)

"5 Minute Moment for Racial Justice"

"In collaboration with my mentor Dr. Samantha Wang, my research this summer was entitled 5 Minute Moment for Racial Justice. We built a novel curriculum that includes race as a social determinant of health being taught to both patients and learners (residents and medical students) at the bedside."

Loren Cobb, MHS

Student, Meharry Medical College

Most Outstanding Project Award
(for the most outstanding abstract, poster,
and oral presentation)

"Impact of Race on Graft Survival in Patients Undergoing Liver Transplantation"

"The research aimed to address the insufficient system in which minorities receive kidney transplants in Georgia; where the rate at which an individual receives a kidney is extremely low due to long wait times on kidney transplant wait lists."

Schedule

Please note: This event has passed — please check back next year for the next retreat dates and times

Registration Opens

Monday, September 13th, 2021

Abstract, Poster & Video Deadline

Sunday, September 19th, 2021 (midnight)

Virtual Retreat

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2021

STARTS: 8 am PT/10 am CT
PLEASE NOTE: The virtual retreat will be held in two time zones*

1st KEYNOTE SPEAKER: 8:05 am - 8:25 am (10:05 am - 10:25 am CT)
Dr. Jennifer Cunningham Erves, PhD, MPH, MAEd, MS, CHES
Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Meharry Medical College

SESSION 1 -VIDEO PRESENTATIONS and Q&A: 8:30 am - 10:00 am PT (10:30 am - 12:00 pm CT)

5 MINUTE BREAK: 10:00 am - 10:05 am PT (12:00 pm - 12:05 pm CT)

2nd KEYNOTE SPEAKER: 10:05 am - 10:25 am PT (12:05 pm - 12:25 pm CT)
Dr. Ami S. Bhatt, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine (Hematology) and of Genetics, Stanford Medicine

SESSION 2 -VIDEO PRESENTATIONS and Q&A: 10:25 am - 11:55 am PT (12:25 pm - 1:55 pm CT)

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS: 11:55 am - 12:00 pm PT (1:55 pm - 2:00 pm CT)

Keynote Speakers

Jennifer Cunningham Erves, PhD, MPH, MAEd, MS, CHES

Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Meharry Medical College

Improving cancer health disparities has always been a childhood dream of mine. As a doctoral student, I conducted a mixed-methods study with African American (AA) mothers on their intentions to vaccinate their daughters for human papillomavirus (HPV). I proceeded to do a postdoctoral fellowship in community engagement, in which I did a survey of parental willingness to allow their child to participate in HPV vaccine clinical trials. 
 

Ami S. Bhatt, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Medicine (Hematology)
and of Genetics, Stanford Medicine

In perpetual awe of how 'simple' microbial organisms can perturb complex, multicellular eukaryotic organisms, Ami Bhatt has chosen to dedicate her research program to inspecting, characterizing and dissecting the microbe-human interface. Nowhere is the interaction between hosts and microbes more potentially impactful than in immunocompromised hosts and global settings where infectious and environmental exposures result in drastic and sometimes fatal health consequences.