Members of the Madison Lab

Daniel V. Madison, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

physically distant lab meeting

Lab Alumni News

Erin Schuman is elected member of the United States National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences has elected Erin Schuman, director of the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research (Frankfurt, Germany) to their membership. Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. The election results were announced on April 27, 2020.

Dr Jane Haley, Edinburgh Neuroscience Coordinator, awarded an MBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List

Congratulations to Dr Jane Haley (Edinburgh Neuroscience) who has been awarded a Member of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen's Birthday Honours List in recognition for Services to Science Engagement and Education.

Kristina Micheva, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist

Kristina Micheva is interested in a wide variety of problems related to the structure and function of neural circuits.  She is co-inventor of the array tomography technique, and has been a leader in the application of this technique to interesting neurobiological questions.  Her current projects include the characterization of proteins at identified synapses in neocortex and the study of myelination of inhibitory interneuronal axons.


Marianna Kiraly, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Marianna Kiraly is focusing on studying how the induction of certain synaptic plasticity states between pairs of pyramidal neurons correlates with the resulting anatomical changes (postsynaptic density, volume of postsynaptic spines, glutamate receptor transportation). Another one of her current projects addresses the significance of axon myelination in signal transmission between interneuron – principal neuron pairs (multiple sclerosis model).