Latest information on COVID-19

Dr. Schrier's Gift Fund    

To learn more about making a gift in Dr. Schrier's memory, click here.   

Make a Gift to the Division of Hematology

To learn more about how to make a gift to the division, visit here.

Reimbursement Forms

Faculty Reimbursement Form

Stanford Faculty can submit their expense reimbursement requests via this link:

Hematology Expense Reimbursement Request Form

All other expense reimbursement requests can be submitted by using the following form:

Featured Publications

See Below for other publications

Jason Gotlib, MD

Message from the Chief

Welcome to the Stanford Division of Hematology, a dynamic center for basic and translational research, clinical trials, patient care, and teaching. Our physicians, scientists, staff, and trainees collaborate to advance the understanding and treatment of hematologic disorders, all with the goal of improving outcomes for patients with these diseases. In pursuit of this objective, we engage with the broader Stanford community to bring innovation to our efforts.

Over the last 20 years, multiple novel therapies have resulted in significant clinical advances for hematologic diseases, and Stanford investigators have played key roles in their development, including imatinib for CML, ibrutinib for CLL, midostaurin for mast cell disease, and many others. Our clinicians have expertise in a broad range of hematologic disorders including acute and chronic leukemias, myeloproliferative neoplasms, myelodysplastic syndromes, multiple myeloma, amyloidosis, thrombotic diseases, coagulation disorders, and general hematology.

The basic and translational research efforts of the division have led to fundamental discoveries in areas as diverse as leukemia & stem cells, genomics, thrombosis, telomere & cancer biology, and the microbiome. Our passionate faculty members have mentored and trained leaders in the field of hematology and are committed to attract the next generation of leading physicians and research scientists. We invite you to learn more about us through our website.

Congratulations to the Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Leadership Team and Admin Team!

The Hematology/Oncology fellowship has gained dual ACGME accreditation under the leadership of Dr. Tamara Dunn (pictured left) and Dr. Gregory Heestand (Pictured below).

The division celebrates this remarkable success and recognizes the hard work of the faculty and administrative leadership. Administrative efforts were led by Program Manager, Michelle Gomez, and Lead Program Coordinator, Maria Carrasco.

Recent Appointments

Dr. Michaela Liedtke has been appointed as our Clinical Chief for Hematology.

Dr. Ravi Majeti is a STRIVE Awardee

The Mark Foundation for Cancer Research and RUNX1 Research Program Annouce STRIVE Awardees

Read the full press release here

Physician Champion of the Year

Gregory Heestand, MD - Hematology

Congratulations, Dr. Heestand!

Physician Champion of the Year Nominee

Gabriel Mannis, MD - Hematology

Congratulations, Dr. Mannis!

2021 Advanced Practice Provider of the Year

Rhonda Hewitt, ANP, AOCNP - APP, Hematology/Oncology

The Division of Hematology congratulates Rhonda Hewitt, ANP, AOCNP, on her achievement. She is the 2021 Advanced Practice Provider of the Year!

Aravind Natarajan, PhD, MS, Receives JEDI Champion Award

Stanford Cancer Care jumped from 21st to 12th!

Aravind Natarajan has received the Postdoc Jedi Champions award granted by Stanford OPA. The Stanford postdoc JEDI Champion Award recognizes postdoctoral scholars that contribute effort for the advancement of justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion at Stanford. Aravind Natrajan, a postdoctoral researcher in the Hematology Bhatt lab, is thrilled to accept the award.

SHC once again named on U.S. News & World Report's "Best Hospitals" Honor Roll

Stanford Cancer Care jumped from 21st to 12th!

Stanford Health Care (SHC) has once more been named one of the country's top hospitals. Notably, Stanford Health Care achieved national acclaim in Cancer among other areas in the domains of safety, quality of care, patient experience, and patient outcomes. Stanford's Cancer Care had a remarkable jump from 21st to 12th!

Overall, Stanford Hospital's national ranking rose to 12th, ranking 4th in California and 1st in the San Jose metropolitan area. Special thanks to our Hematology and Oncology Physicians and SHC for this remarkable performance!



Dr. Calvin Kuo and Dr. Tian Zhang Featured in the 2021 DoM Annual Report

The Stanford Department of Medicine launched the 2021 Annual Report on May 26, 2021. The report is filled with many interesting stories and articles about what the department has done over the past year. Hematology's own Dr. Tian Zhang and Dr. Calvin Kuo are featured in the report. You can access the report here.

Congratulations to Hematology Fellow, Dr. Ilana Yurkiewicz, on her recent publication with Dr. Steven Coutre

Congratulations to Ilana  Yurkiewicz, MD and Steven Coutre, MD, for their publication in Leukemia and Lymphoma. The publication is titled Moxetumomab pasudotox as re-treatment for heavily pretreated relapsed hairy cell leukemia. See the article here.

Resident Research Retreat April 2021 with Dr. Chien and Dr. Mannis

Dr.Caroline Berube Published on ASH Clinical News

You Make the Call: How long should a young patient with COVID-19 and pulmonary embolism receive anticoagulation?

Dr. Caroline Berube, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Hematology at Stanford, published an article with ASH discussing "anticoagulation for a young patient with COVID-19 and pulmonary embolism".

Hematology Newsletters

Spring 2022 Hematology Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter by emailing

Faculty Highlights

Dr. Tamara Dunn was featured on the CBS morning news on Friday, January 22, 2021 as she was speaking on the importance of getting the COVID-19 vaccine.

Dr. Tamara Dunn, selection to the ASH Medical Educator Institute.

Dr. Beth Martin, Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Award for Excellence in Pre-Clinical Teaching

Dr. Jason Gotlib, University of Vienna Researcher of the Year, ECNM Medal and Trophy, 2019.

Dr. David Iberri Division Teaching Award, 2019.