News

ELINA POLLNER JOINS THE TRANSLATIONAL GENOMICS OF DIABETES LAB AS A BIOX-SUMMER STUDENT

 

The TGD lab is excited to welcome Alina Pollner to the team!   Alina is currently a first-year undergraduate student at Stanford studying human biology and math. As of this week she is now a  member of the Bio-X Undergraduate Summer Research Program (https://biox.stanford.edu/research/undergraduate-research)  for the summer of 2021, and will be working on a project to determine networks that are behind the genetic basis of Type 2 diabetes.   Alina is originally from San Diego, CA and loves anything to do with the outdoors— she loves running, backpacking and camping. 

Welcome to the team Alina!

Anna Gloyn delivered a plenary talk as part of the International Common Disease Alliance (ICDA) Virtual Meeting on the 8th December. 

Her presentation was in the session on Maps to Mechanisms and can be viewed on the ICDA YouTube channel. 

https://youtu.be/aiwzisbFTUk

Interested in learning more about going from a GWAS variant to molecular mechanism? Register for the Nature Genetics & Nature Genetics Reviews Podcast where Anna Gloyn & Manolis Kellis (MIT) discuss current progress in this area 

https://webcasts4.wpengine.com/webcasts/event/variant-to-function/

Professor Gloyn to kick off Season 2 of the Virtual Diabetes Research Seminar Series (09/09/2020)

The Virtual Diabetes Research Center Seminar Series is an effort to connect investigators and trainees during this time of great change, anxiety, and isolation related to the COVID crisis. This pilot seminar series is organized by the NIDDK Diabetes Research Centers at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Indiana University in Indianapolis, Stanford University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the University of Michigan, the University of Colorado, the University of Washington, Vanderbilt University, and in North Carolina.

The seminar series will resume on Wednesday, September 9th, 2020 (2:00 PM EST | 1:00 PM CST | 12:00 PM MST | 11:00 AM PST) with a presentation by Professor Anna Gloyn (Stanford), “Using human genetics to unravel mechanisms of human islet-cell dysfunction in type 2 diabetes.”

Find out more and register for the seminar series here. https://www.vumc.org/diabetescenter/virtual-seminar-series

In February Anna & Nicole both officially started at Stanford and moved into their new space at 3165 Porter Drive.  The lab is taking shape and we will be ready to get our research back up and running as the COVID19 shut down is lifted.

We have already welcomed team member Antje Grotz to Stanford for a visit.

You can read more about our relocation to Stanford in the Stanford Diabetes Research Centre Newsletter.