OFDD offers a series of faculty awards throughout the year to support the advancement of a diverse and inclusive Stanford Medicine faculty community and to encourage the study of underrepresented populations in medicine. Recognizing the successes of our faculty is important to OFDD as we honor our faculty’s myriad accomplishments.

Pilot Funding Awards

OFDD Community Support Initiative

To build community and encourage new networks that enact positive change for diversity in academic medicine at Stanford, the Office of Faculty Development and Diversity (OFDD) seeks to help faculty establish communities and networks for inclusion. Awardees receive funding to organize networks with an impact on diversity, broadly defined. OFDD provides funds for a pilot year with the goal that groups also consider how they may secure other funds for the continuation of the network.

Health Equity Action Leadership (HEAL) Network Pilot Grants

The Office of Faculty Development and Diversity of the Stanford University School of Medicine offers grants to junior and mid-career faculty members that support health equity projects under the mentorship of a senior faculty member. These grants are intended to support the advancement of health equity and health outcomes of populations that have been historically marginalized in the United States. Funds may be used to undertake research, clinical, or educational projects that promote health equity.

McCormick Faculty Awards

The annual McCormick Faculty Awards provide research/project funding to junior faculty women for career advancement, or to junior faculty men or women who support the advancement of women in medicine through research. Faculty from all lines are encouraged to apply and must be within the first 7 years of their first faculty appointments. Recipients are awarded $30,000 for up to two years. In addition, McCormick Faculty Award winners are provided the opportunity to participate in OFDD training opportunities that will advance their career development at Stanford. This award is endowed through the legacy of Katharine D. McCormick. For the past several years, we have received generous support from Stanford University's Gabilan Fellowship to endow an additional 2 awardees each year.

Recognition Awards

Dr. Augustus A. White and Family Faculty Professionalism Award

The Dr. Augustus A. White III and Family Faculty Professionalism award serves to recognize outstanding work in helping to reduce health disparities or to support activities that affect historically marginalized communities in medicine at Stanford Medicine through research, education, mentoring or service. The Stanford faculty members selected and honored with the award are distinguished by their leadership in either of the following areas:

  • Research or teaching that affects outcomes among historically marginalized communities or
  • Developing programs that support historically marginalized early career faculty, students, or trainees

OFDD solicits nominations for this faculty award from all faculty, students, and staff at Stanford. This award started in 2011 and is awarded every other year. Click here to watch to Dr. White speak about this year's award.

Past awardees include:

Baraka Floyd, MD (2024)
Lahia Yemane, MD(2023)
Tiffany Cheng, MD (2021)
Megan Mahoney, MD (2019)

Dr. Laure Aurelian Biomedical Research Award

The Dr. Laure Aurelian Biomedical Research Award was established in 2022 to recognize a Stanford Medicine early-career faculty member who received their final MD and/or PhD degree within the previous 8 years OR who has been at the assistant professor rank for no more than four years, and who is either:

  • a woman scholar conducting innovative basic or translational biomedical research or
  • an investigator conducting innovative basic or translational studies in women’s health or
  • an exceptional mentor of junior women biomedical researchers (e.g., graduate students or postdocs)

To cement Dr. Aurelian’s legacy, the Aurelian Family selected two institutions from which nominations of early-career scholars will be considered for the annual award funded by the Dr. Laure Aurelian Biomedical Research Endowment: Stanford Medicine and the University of Maryland School of Medicine. One early-career faculty awardee will be selected from each institution annually. This Award is named in honor of Stanford Medicine’s former Senior Advisor for Faculty Development, Dr. Laure Aurelian, who embodied the passion and commitment to advancing the careers of early career faculty and women scientists at Stanford Medicine.

2023 Stanford Medicine Awardees

Renu Dhanasekaran, MD
Hawa Racine Thiam, PhD

Applications & Nominations

Application/nomination announcements are emailed to faculty when the annual submission process for each award opens. Further questions? 

Faculty Support

OFDD also supports the attendance of selected faculty at various external professional development seminars throughout the year.