Virtual Event

Save the date for next year's symposium!

Advances in research and technology now afford us the unique opportunity to develop and test novel diagnostics and therapeutics. This conference takes advantage of the collective experience and expertise of our participants to cover a broad range of policy, research, and venture topics. This symposium provides an invaluable forum for interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research.

Lifetime Achievement Awardees

John Schiller, PhD

Deputy Chief, Laboratory of Cellular Oncology
National Cancer Institute

Douglas Lowy, MD

Principal Deputy Director
National Cancer Institute


Hal Barron, MD

CSO and President of R&D

Robert Califf, MD

Head of Strategy and Policy
Verily Life Sciences and Google Health Divisions of Alphabet

Stanley T. Crooke, MD, PhD

Executive Chairman of the Board
Ionis Pharmaceuticals

Helene Gayle, MD, MPH

President and CEO
The Chicago Community Trust

Thomas Hudson, MD

Senior Vice President, R&D and Chief Scientific Officer

Peter Kim, PhD

Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor of Biochemistry
Stanford School of Medicine

Roger Kornberg, PhD

Mrs. George A. Winzer Professor in Medicine
Stanford University
Nobel Prize in 2006

Fady Malik, MD, PhD, FACC, FAHA

Executive Vice President, Research and Development

Ken Mills

President and CEO

Michael Nedelman


Andrew Plump, MD, PhD

Takeda Pharmaceuticals

Marcus Schindler, PhD

Executive Vice President and CSO of Research & Early Development
Novo Nordisk

Young Sohn

Chairman of the Board, HARMAN
Senior Advisor, Samsung Electronics

George Yancopoulos, MD, PhD

President and CSO

Michael Basson, PhD

Senior Editor
Nature Medicine

Andrea Carfi, PhD

CSO for Infectious Disease

Jürgen Eckhardt, MD

Senior Vice President and Head of Leaps by Bayer

Anne Heatherington, PhD

Senior Vice President
Head of Data Sciences Institute

Mir Imran, MS

Chairman and CEO
Rani Therapeutics

Nina Kjellson

General Partner

Nanna Lüneborg, PhD

Novo Holdings

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD

Global Head of Research and Development

Lloyd Minor, MD

Carl and Elizabeth Naumann Professorship for the Dean
Stanford School of Medicine 

Julie Parsonnet, MD

George Deforest Barnett Professor in Medicine
Prof of Epidemiology and Population Health, Stanford

Camille Samuels, MBA


Mark Smith, MD, MBA

Founding President and CEO
California Healthcare Foundation

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD

President and Bing Presidential Professor
Stanford University

Taiyin Yang, PhD

Executive Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development and Manufacturing

Elias Zerhouni, MD

Former President for Global R&D, Sanofi
Former Director, NIH
Former US Presidential Science Envoy

Helen Blau, PhD

Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor
Director, Baxter Lab for Stem Cell Biology

Carmen Chang, MA, JD

General Partner
Head of Asia
New Enterprise Associates

Levi Garraway, MD, PhD

Executive VP, Head of Product Development, and Chief Medical Officer

Sandra Horning, MD

Board member, Gilead Sciences
Board Member, Moderna

Kathrin Jansen, PhD

Senior Vice President
Head of Vaccine Research and Development

Brian Kobilka, MD

Helene Irwin Fagan Chair in Cardiology
Stanford University
Nobel Prize in 2012

Yvonne Maldonado, MD

Sr Assoc Dean, Faculty Development and Diversity, Taube Professor of Global Health and Infectious Diseases

Joan Mannick, MD

Head of Research and Development
Life Biosciences

Woodrow A. Myers, Jr, MD, MBA

Managing Director
Myers Ventures, LLC

Philip Pizzo, MD

David and Susan Heckerman Professor and Professor of Microbiology and Immunology; Emeritus Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Serge Saxonov

Co-Founder and CEO
10x Genomics

Orla Smith, PhD

Science Translational Medicine


Janet Woodcock, MD

Acting Commissioner

Wendy Young, PhD

Senior Vice President, Small Molecule Drug Discovery



Amanda Chase, PhD

Associate Director of Strategic Research Development
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

Joseph Wu, MD, PhD

Director, Stanford CVI
Simon H. Stertzer, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine and Radiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Sanjay Malhotra, PhD

Professor, Cell, Developmental & Cancer Biology; Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics
Oregon Health & Science University

Mark Mercola, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Kuldev Singh, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Support by

in alphabetical order

Alexandria Ventures

Alwaysraise, LLC


Codex DNA



Khloris Biosciences


Novo Nordisk




Servier BioInnovation

Vala Sciences

10X Genomics

Stanford Cardiovascular Health

Media Sponsors

Biocom California

California Life Sciences Association

Keystone Symposia

Society for Laboratory Automation and Screening (SLAS)

For additional information, please contact Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD, or Amanda Chase, PhD