Winter Closure 2019


The 2019 Winter Closure will be:

Monday, December 23, 2019, 
through Friday, January 3, 2020

During this time, the following dates have been designated as University holidays:

  • Tuesday, December 24, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Except where operations must continue, all areas of the school are asked to close during this two-week period.   Regular operations will resume on Monday, January 6, 2020.  The winter closure also will apply to bargaining unit employees.

This year, for areas that close for the entire period of December 23, 2019, through January 3, 2020, the University will provide three (3) additional days off with pay.  The additional days off with pay may be taken on any normal workday during the close period that is not an employee’s regularly scheduled day off or a designated holiday.

For the other regular workdays during winter close that are not designated by the University as holidays or paid days off, employees may use accrued vacation, any available PTO, approved time off without pay, or any combination thereof.  All departments are asked to administer time off during this week in a consistent fashion, and not to award University paid time off for other dates. 

A complete list of paid holidays for eligible employees can be found on the University Holiday Schedule.