Biomedical Ethics Seminar Series

SCBE Seminars (Biomedical Ethics Seminars) are generally Tuesdays, 10am - 11am from September to June in the SCBE conference room, unless otherwise noted. 

Due to COVID-19, all seminars have been moved to a virtual format until further notice.

Invited Speakers Seminars are free-of-charge, and open to the public.  

If you would like to be added to our SCBE Events email list to receive notifications of upcoming SCBE Seminars, please click the blue "Subscribe to our Events Mailing List" button to the right.

Questions? Please email Megan Cvitanovic.  

Sep September 21 Tue 2021

  • Speaker: September Williams
  • Topic: Where Bioethics and Complex Screen Narratives Meet
  • Recording available here

Oct October 19 Tue 2021

  • Speaker: Joshua Mezrich 
  • Topic: When Death Becomes Life: Notes From a Transplant Surgeon
  • Recording available here

Nov November 02 Tue 2021

  • Speaker: Jonathan Garfinkel
  • Topic: Diabetes as Illness and Metaphor: Stories from the Body-Technology
  • Recording available here

Nov November 16 Tue 2021

  • Speaker: Scott Kim
  • Topic: An Overview of Varieties of Medically Assisted Death Policies
  • Recording available here

Dec December 07 Tue 2021

Dec December 14 Tue 2021

  • Speaker: Kathryn Phillips
  • Topic: Who Will Benefit Vs. Who Will Pay? Reconciling the Irreconcilable Dilemmas of Genomic Medicine
  • Recording available here

Feb February 08 Tue 2022

Feb February 22 Tue 2022

  • Speaker: Mark Kuczewski
  • Topic: Undocumented Patients: How Did We Get Here? Where Are We Going?
  • Recording available here!

Mar March 16 Wed 2022

Apr April 12 Tue 2022

  • Speaker: Leah McClimans
  • Topic: Patient-Centered Measurement
  • Recording avaliable here

May May 09 Mon 2022

  • Speaker: Jennifer James
  • Topic: Black Feminism, Bioethics, and Carcerality: Exploring Informed Consent and Structural Violence to Understand Prisons as Eugenic Institutions
  • Register here!

May May 24 Tue 2022

Jun June 21 Tue 2022

  • Speaker: Barbara Koenig
  • Topic: Challenges in Constructing the Human Pan Genome
  • Registration available soon!