2020 Arts + Anesthesia Soirée

Cynthia Khoo, MD is a Clinical Assistant Professor at Stanford’s Anesthesiology, Perioperative And Pain Medicine.
This photograph is of Halong Bay.

Introduction of Arts + Anesthesia Soirée Website

By Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Committee

Welcome to the 2020 Spring Arts and Anesthesia Soirée Website of the Stanford Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine. The Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Committee is honored to showcase artistic creations, explorations, and performances by members of the Stanford Anesthesiology community: physicians, staff, students, family, and friends of the department.

Our first Soirée, in 2012 co-chaired by Drs. Julie Good and Audrey Shafer, and emceed by then resident Dr. Craig Chen, illuminated the power of the arts to create community and connection, and enabled us to feature our diverse backgrounds and talents in a warm, welcoming setting. Every spring since, the department has hosted either a Soirée or an event to create art together. Due to COVID, such a gathering is not possible. Hence, we present our work virtually and welcome you to browse, share, and enjoy.

For this first issue, we feature two sections on COVID-19 Highlights and #WhiteCoatsForBlackLives, presenting work that responds to the global COVID-19 pandemic and work from the Stanford community that speaks out against systemic racism. We encourage members of the department to submit work for consideration for future editions; in particular, please note our dedication to diversity and inclusion.

Thank you for visiting this community space devoted to art, anesthesia, and creativity.

Rolling Submission Guidelines + Disclaimer Statement

Submissions will be accepted on a rolling basis throughout the academic year until spring/summer, when the soirée will hopefully return to a physical evening event. For each academic year, we will be limiting submissions to 3 entries per person (thus, if you have already submitted 3 entries for this year, please refrain from submitting again until the next cycle). For more information on how to submit, please visit: https://forms.gle/APomvx4UFTKyqBSP6

Please note: The copyrights of all artwork (Material) on this site remains the property of the artist/submitter.

Any parts of the Material that are solely owned and controlled by Submitter pursuant to 15 U.S.C.A. 1051 et seq. and/or protected by copyright for the benefit of Submitter pursuant to 17 U.S.C.A. 101 et seq. (collectively, the “Statutes”) shall be deemed protected materials for the purpose of this release and this website, Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Soirée, claims no ownership in such protected materials by virtue of this Release. The Submitter is the sole originator of the Material(s), that the Material(s) is solely owned by Submitter and that no other person, firm, or corporation has any right, title or interest therein or thereto. Neither the Material(s) nor Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Soirée's review or use thereof shall violate any personal or property rights of any third party including, not limited to, rights of droit moral, privacy, publicity, copyright, trademark, or other intellectual property rights, nor shall the Material(s) or Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Soirée's review or use thereof constitute defamation, libel or slander against any third party. Submitter retains all copyrights of the Material(s) submitted by the Submitter and published by Stanford Arts + Anesthesia Soirée.


However, if you are interested in getting connected to the artist/submitter for their artwork or for any other question or concern, please
contact admin Lis P. Sipin at msipin@stanford.edu.

This multimedia section features artwork directly responding to COVID-19.

“Faces of Anesthesiologists” by Edward Mariano, MD, a Professor of Stanford’s Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine at the Palo Alto Veterans Affairs Health Care System.



This multimedia section features artwork from the Stanford Medicine community coming together to speak out against systemic racism during the COVID-19 global pandemic.

“The Struggle Continues” by Adjoa Boateng, MD, an Anesthesia Critical Care Medicine Fellow in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine. She is transitioning into a clinical faculty position in July 2020.





Gregory Hammer, MD

Lis P. Sipin-Gabon, MFA

Adjoa Boateng, MD



Genevieve D’souza, MD
Lynn Ngai Gerber, MD
Nikki Erber
Jennifer Basarab-Tung, MD



Amanda Jane Morris, MD
Bruce MacIver, MD
Elena Brandford, MD
Elliot Krane, MD
Helen Heymann, MD
Louise Furukawa, MD
Rita Agarwal, MD

Arts + Anesthesia Soirée committee

Audrey Shafer, MD   |   Julie Good, MD   |   Jennifer Rose Basarab-Tung, MD   |   Lynn Ngai Gerber, MD   |   Lis P. Sipin, MFA