The department is home to Professors Roger Kornberg, Michael Levitt, Peter Parham, Yahli Lorch, William Weis, Jody Puglisi, Elisabetta Viani Puglisi, and Theodore Jardetzky, as well as Professors Emeritus Patricia Cross and Dave McKay. Professor K. Christopher Garcia serves jointly as a faculty member for both Structural Biology and Molecular & Cellular Physiology, and several professors also collaborate with the department as courtesy appointments.

Research in the Department of Structural Biology emphasizes structural problems related to biological molecules and a variety of biophysical methodologies. Experimental methods used are X-ray crystallography, electron crystallography, NMR spectroscopy and computational analysis.

Our research relies heavily on the powerful instruments located at the SSRL - Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory - one of only five centers supplying synchrotron radiation X-rays in the United States.