The Stanford Skull Base Surgery Team

Our Skull Base team is made of Stanford Medicine's best surgeons across all disciplines related to skull base treatment, surgery, and recovery.

Anterior/Endoscopic Skull Base Surgeons

Zara M. Patel, MD
Associate Professor & Director of Skull Base Surgery, OHNS

Peter H. Hwang, MD
Professor & Vice Chair, OHNS

Jayakar V. Nayak, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, OHNS

Lateral Skull Base Surgeons

Nik Blevins, MD
Larry and Sharon Malcolmson Professor, OHNS

Robert K. Jackler, MD
Sewall Professor and Chair, OHNS

Peter Santa Maria, MD
Assistant Professor, OHNS

Jennifer Alyono, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, OHNS


Juan Fernandez-Miranda, MD, FACS
Professor & Division Chief of Skull Base Surgery, Neurosurgery

Steven D. Chang, MD
Professor, Neurosurgery

Gordon Li, MD
Associate Professor, Neurosurgery

Melanie Hayden-Gephart, MD
Associate Professor, Neurosurgery

Robert Dodd, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Neurosurgery and Radiology

Pediatric Neurosurgeons

Gerald Grant, MD, FACS
Professor, Pediatric Neurosurgery

David S. Hong, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery

Kelly Mahaney, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Neurosurgery

Head and Neck Surgeons

Vasu Divi, MD
Associate Professor, OHNS

Eben Rosenthal, MD
Professor, OHNS and Radiology

Michael Kaplan, MD
Professor, OHNS

Oculoplastic Surgeons

Andrea Kossler, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor, Ophthalmology

Benjamin Erickson, MD, MHS
Clinical Assistant Professor, Ophthalmology


Y. Joyce Liao, MD, PhD
Associatie Professor, Ophthalmology and Neurology

Shannon Beres, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurology & Neurological Sciences and Ophthalmology

Heather E. Moss, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Ophthalmology and Neurology


Laurence Katznelson, MD
Professor, Neurosurgery and Medicine

Andrew R. Hoffman, MD
Professor, Medicine


Nancy Fischbein
Professor, Radiology