Research Management Group (RMG)

The Searle Scholars Program

*Limited* funding opportunity for Stanford faculty whose first tenure-track** assistant professor appointment began on or after July 1, 2017, and who are pursuing independent research careers in biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and related areas in chemistry, medicine, and the biological sciences. (**The sponsor has approved our faculty with UTL & MCL appointments-see eligibility for additional details.)

The Searle Scholars Program selection committee is primarily interested in the potential of applicants to make innovative and high-impact contributions to research over an extended period of time. The program does not ordinarily support purely clinical research but has supported research programs that include both clinical and basic components.



The 2018 internal selection process has been completed. This webpage is for your reference only.


# of applicants permitted: 3 (internal selection process required--see internal submission requirements below).

Internal Deadline for all Schools, Tues., July 10, 2018, 5 p.m. (see internal submission guidelines)
Schools to submit their top 3 proposals to the Dean of Research office: July 19, 2018
Applicants notified about their selection: July 25, 2018
For applicants selected:
Sponsor deadline: Sept. 28, 2018
Award start date:  July 1, 2019

**School Contacts and Deadlines:
Faculty will submit their internal proposals, per the internal submission guidelines at the end of this message, to their school's respective contact person:

Sponsor's overview website:

Award Recipients
2018 recipients (including one from Stanford) and links to all current scholars:

Amount of funding $100,000/year x 3 years ($300,000 total)
15 to be awarded.


The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected academic institutions to support the independent research of outstanding young scientists who have recently been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment (see Stanford eligibility clarification** above).


By Tuesday, July 10, 2018, 5 p.m., each faculty member should submit one PDF file containing the following in the order listed below to their respective school's representative:

File name: Last name_Searle_2018.pdf

Institutional representative:
You do not need to submit your internal proposal through your RPM in RMG or your CGO in OSR for their approval. You can submit your proposals to your school's respective contact person.

1) Title Page
Searle Scholars Program
Your Project Title:
Your name, appointment, department, contact information (address, phone, email)

2) Nomination/recommendation letter printed on department letterhead signed by either your division chief or your department chair
Letter should also include: the date (month/day/year) that appointment was formally approved by the Provost Office**(your first appointment should have been on or after July 1, 2017); the type of appointment (i.e., MCL or UTL); the percentage of time the candidate can devote to his/her laboratory research.

Each nomination letter should be addressed as follows (according to your respective school):

3) Research proposal of not more than 4 pages, describing in detail, what part of the research would be supported with Searle funds. What is described can be unique and not funded elsewhere, or it may be a component of on-going research. Funds awarded by the Program are not intended to replace monies obtained from another funding agency but may be used to supplement on-going research.
PLEASE NOTE: illustrations and literary references are not included in the 4-page limit. However, illustrations can be imbedded into the proposal as long as the text does not exceed 4 pages.
Format: Proposal documents should be single-spaced, single-sided, font at least size 11, Arial or Helvetica, margins 1/2 inch.

4) NIH biosketch

5) List of current and pending funding (include the name of the sponsor, amount of funding, and term)

Selection Process
Each school will forward their top three proposals to the Dean of Research Office Limited Program Review Committee by July 19th. That committee will select the three applicants to represent the university.


Footer Links: