Drs. Demirci, Spielman and Willmann Elected to AIMBE College of Fellows

December 19, 2016

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the pending induction of Utkan Demirci, PhD, Craig Levin, PhD, Sylvia Plevritis, PhD, Daniel Spielman, PhD, and Juergan Willamnn, MD, to its College of Fellows. Dr. Demirci is an Associate Professor of Radiology, and by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering. Dr. Levin is a Professor of Radiology and, by courtesy, of Physics,  of Electrical Engineering and of Bioengineering. Dr. Plevritis is a Professor of Radiology, of Biomedical Data Science and, by courtesy, of Management Science and Engineering. Dr. Spielman is a Professor of Radiology, and by courtesy, Electrical Engineering. Dr. Willmann is a Professor of Radiology.

The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. The most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators, and successful entrepreneurs, comprise the College of Fellows.

AIMBE Fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research, and innovation. AIMBE Fellows have been awarded the Presidential Medal of Science and the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation and many also are members of the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and the National Academy of Sciences.

A formal induction ceremony will be held during AIMBE’s 2017 Annual Meeting at the National Academy of Sciences Great Hall in Washington, DC on Monday, March 20, 2017.

AIMBE’s mission is to recognize excellence in, and advocate for, the fields of medical and biological engineering in order to advance society. Since 1991, AIMBE‘s College of Fellows has lead the way for technological growth and advancement in the fields of medical and biological engineering. Fellows have helped revolutionize medicine and related fields in order to enhance and extend the lives of people all over the world. They have also successfully advocated for public policies that have enabled researchers and business-makers to further the interests of engineers, teachers, scientists, clinical practitioners, and ultimately, patients.

Congratulations, Dr. Demirci, Dr. Levin, Dr. Plevritis, Dr. Spielman, and Dr. Willmann!