Department Funding Opportunities

Departmental Innovator Grant Program

The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Small Grant Program, launched in 2015, was designed to promote research and collaborative scholarly projects advancing the academic interests of our faculty and the strategic themes of our department.  Rebranded as the Departmental Innovator Grant Program in 2018, awards include Pilot Studies in novel scientific areas that have high potential to lead to competitive grant applications and Small Scholarly Projects related to education, clinical care, community outreach, and health systems issues, such as health care quality.  For more information, and to view projects funded by year, please visit:

Suicide Prevention through Outreach (SPOt)

The Stanford University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences in collaboration with the Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford and the Stanford Medicine Child Health Research Institute invited applications for special projects focused on suicide prevention among youth in our community in 2017 and 2018. We sought innovative and collaborative projects for each category that are responsive to the CDC report and the need to provide resources and support for our local and regional community.

In October of 2017 and 2018, the program awarded faculty seed grants for special projects focused on suicide prevention among youth in our community. For more information on the program and recipients of the 2017 and 2018 Suicide Prevention through Outreach (SPOt) Grant Opportunity, please visit:

Research on Lyme Disease: Seed Grant Opportunity

The Stanford Lyme Working Group announced a new seed grant program in 2017 to advance research and innovation in Lyme Disease.  The seed grant program seeks to broadly stimulate research on Lyme Disease, with the goals of sparking new means of diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of the condition and of examining the impact of Lyme Disease in the lives of individuals, families, and communities.  

To learn about the Working Group and view the 2017 and 2018 grant recipients, please visit: