Awards and Honors

Our faculty and students receive numerous awards and honors each year for their outstanding contributions to scholarly research, clinical care, education, and professional leadership.


Amit Etkin

Pioneer Award
National Institutes of Health 2017 Director's Pioneer Award

Yasmin Owusu

MD Program Teaching Award for excellence in promotion of humanism
Stanford University School of Medicine MD Program

Jessi Gold

Arnold P Gold Foundation Award for Humanism and Excellence in Teaching
Stanford University School of Medicine MD Program

Carolyn Rodriguez

2017 A.E. Bennett Research Award
The Society of Biological Psychiatry

Shashank Joshi

Nancy C.A. Roeske, M.D., Certificate of Recognition for Excellence in Medical Student Education
American Psychiatric Association

Robert Malenka

Julius Axelrod Prize
from the Society for Neuroscience

Karl Deisseroth

Massry Prize
Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation

Ricardo Muñoz

Adjunct Clinical Professor
elected as a Fellow
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Karl Deisseroth

2016 Harvey Prize in Human Health
Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Rania Awaad

Stanford Outstanding Community Partner Award
Office of Community Engagement, Stanford University School of Medicinee

Rona Hu

2017 Stanford Asian American Faculty Award
Stanford University Asian American Activities Center Student Affairs Advisory Board

Ruth O'Hara

2016 Allan V Cox Medal for Facuty Excellence in Fostering Undergraduate Research
Stanford University     

Ranak Trivedi

2017 McCormick Faculty Award
Stanford SOM
Office of Faculty Development and Diversity

Sergiu Pasca

2017 Jordi Folch-Pi Award
American Society for Neurochemistry

Neir Eshel

2016 Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists
Science/AAAS and SciLifeLab

Corey Keller

Postgraduate Award
Alpha Omega Alpha

Laura Roberts

Carol Davis Ethics Award
American Psychiatric Association


Jose Maldonado

Sawlow Memorial Award Lecture on Neuroscience from the Oregon Health & Science University and the Portland International Neuroscience Symposium

Alan Louie

Distinguished Life Fellow
of the American Psychiatric Association

Luis de Lecea

Outstanding Research Achievement Award
from the Sleep Research Society

Emmanuel Mignot

Lifetime Achievement Award
from the National Sleep Society

Alan Schatzberg

Lifetime Achievement Award
from the International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology

Michael Ostacher

Distinguished Fellow
of the American Psychiatric Association

Karen Parker

Kavli Fellow
of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

Debra Safer

Silver Bell Recipient
Awarded by Eating Disorders Research Center

Allan Reiss

Agnes Purcell McGavin Award for Distinguished Career Achievement
American Psychiatric Association

David Spiegel

Bowis Award for Contributions and Leadership
American College of Psychiatrists

Patricia Suppes

Lifetime Distinguished Fellow
of the American Psychiatric Association and of the Northern California Psychiatric Society  

Edith Sullivan

of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology

Rona Hu

Nancy Roeske Medical Student Teaching Award
American Psychiatric Association

Terence Ketter

Irma Bland Award for Resident Teaching
American Psychiatric Association

Susan Edelman

Distinguished Fellow
of the American Psychiatric Association

Dolores Gallagher Thompson

Honorary Doctorate in Education
Hong Kong Institute of Education

Upcoming Events