People

Lab Members

Sylvia K. Plevritis, Ph.D. 

Title: Professor of Biomedical Data Science and of Radiology

Research interest: My research program focuses on computational modeling of cancer biology and cancer outcomes. 

Contact: sylvia.plevritis@stanford.edu; Phone: 650-498-5261

Mehrad Bastani, Ph.D. 

Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Research Interest: Medical Decision Making, Population-Level Data Analytics for Public Health Policy-Making, Disease Management and Treatment Scheduling, Machine Learning and Large-Scale Data Analysis to Improve Cancer Treatment

Contact: bastani@stanford.edu

Gina Bouchard, Ph.D. 

Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest: Characterizing the role of metabolic reprogramming toward Hexosamine Biosynthesis Pathway in promoting a pro-invasion tumor-stromal crosstalk in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer 

Contact: gbouchard@stanford.edu

Zinaida Good, Ph.D. 

Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest: Data integration and systems immunology approaches to understand tumor microenvironment and the attack of engineered T cells against cancer.

Contact: zinaida@stanford.edu

Loukia Karacosta, Ph.D. 

Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest:  Identifying and mapping epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT) and senescence-related drug resistance states in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) with single-cell analysis

Contact: loukia@stanford.edu

Irene Li, B.S. 

Title: Graduate Student

Research Interest: Investigating parallels between the microenvironments of lung cancers and fibrosis with single-cell transcriptomics and imaging methods

Contact: liirene@stanford.edu

Gautam Machiraju, B.A. 

Title: Graduate Student

Research Interests: Systems medicine approaches (multiplexed and multi-omics data) for disease early detection and progression at the patient level, as well as broader biomarker discovery.

Contact: gmachi@stanford.edu

Liyang Sun, B.S. 

Title: Graduate Student

Research Interests: Applications of simulation, statistics, deep learning and data analysis in biomedicine.

Contact: liyangs@stanford.edu

Iakovos (Jacob) Toumazis, Ph.D. 

Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Research Interest: Application of mathematical modeling and optimization techniques to improve cancer care.

Contact: iakovost@stanford.edu

Alice Yu, B.S. 

Title: Graduate Student

Research Interest: Machine learning, networks, tumor microenvironment cell-cell interactions

Contact: ayu1@stanford.edu

Weiruo Zhang, Ph.D. 

Title: National Library of Medicine Trainee

Research Interest: Development of novel computational methods for imaging and multi-omics data integration. Application of computational techniques to analyze omics data at both bulk and single-cell levels for studying tumor microenvironment, cell-cell interaction, cancer progression and immunotherapy.

Contact: weiruo16@stanford.edu

Administration

Theresa McCann

Title: CCSB/CSBS/IBIIS Program Manager                     
Contact: tmccann@stanford.edu
Phone: 650-721-6933

Ramzi Totah

Title: CCSB/CSBS/IBIIS Program Manager                     
Contact: rtotah@stanford.edu
Phone: 650-721-4161

Alumni

David Knowles

Alborz Bejnood

Melissa Ko

Stephanie Bailey

YenLin Chia

Mary Do

Sarah Geneser

Olivier Gevaert

Yihan Guan

Summer Han

Anne-Renee Hartman

Santhosh Kasavajjala

Allison Kurian

Shih-jui Lin

Maksim Pashkevich

Betty Pham

Ramesh Nair

Saadet Ayca Erdogan

Xi Rao

Peng Qiu

Sanatan Rai

Debashis Sahoo

Peter Salzman

Cathy Shachaf

Babak Shahbaba

Slava Sigal

Emily Tsai

Allison Widman

Nancy Zhang

Xi Zhao

Aravind Babu

Vish Nair

Andrew Gentles

Cong Xu

Majid Shafiq 

Benedict Anchang, Ph.D. (Instructor)