Interviews

Interview Invitations

We will start reviewing applications the morning of October 21st when ERAS opens.  U.S. Applicants should have all required documents uploaded by October 20th so that their files are complete once the Medical Student Performance Evaluations are released on October 21st, and IMGs should have all required documents uploaded by end-of-day October 21st.  

We will be offering interview invitations on a rolling basis throughout our interview season.  Our program utilizes Thalamus to send interview invitations and manage the scheduling process.

 

Interview days for 2020-2021 are:

  • Categorical Pediatrics
    • Monday, November 2
    • Thursday, November 5
    • Monday, November 9
    • Tuesday, November 10
    • Thursday, November 12
    • Monday, November 16
    • Tuesday, November 17
    • Wednesday, November 18
    • Monday, November 23
    • Monday, November 30
    • Wednesday, December 2
    • Monday, December 7
    • Tuesday, December 8
    • Wednesday, December 9
  • Physician Scientist Track
    • Thursday, November 19 (Pediatrics) + Friday, November 20 (Research)
    • Thursday, December 3 (Pediatrics) + Friday, December 4 (Research)
    • Thursday, December 10 (Pediatrics) + Friday, December 11 (Research)
  • Combined Pediatrics and Anesthesiology
    • Monday, November 16 (Pediatrics) + Tuesday, November 17 (Anesthesiology)
    • Monday, November 30 (Pediatrics) + Tuesday, December 1 (Anesthesiology)
    • Monday, December 7 (Pediatrics) + Tuesday, December 8 (Anesthesiology)
  • Combined Pediatrics and Medical Genetics (1-day interview format)
    • Monday, November 2
    • Thursday, November 5
    • Monday, November 9
    • Thursday, November 12
  • Child Neurology (1-day interview format)
    • Tuesday, November 10
    • Tuesday, November 17
    • Wednesday, November 18
    • Wednesday, December 2
    • Tuesday, December 8
    • Wednesday, December 9

The Interview Day

All interviews will be virtual and conducted entirely on Zoom.  We will provide you with some written and video materials to be reviewed ahead of the interview day.  The days will include interviews, several information and question-and-answer sessions, an educational conference, and a session with the residents, as well as a virtual social from 6-8 pm either on your interview day or the evening before.  Our pediatrics day will begin at 7:30 am PST and will end at 1:45pm , not including the evening social.  (Interview days are adjusted for child neurology, physician-scientist and pediatrics-genetics tracks) We will schedule intermittent breaks.

We will provide you with a schedule for your day that includes the Zoom links to each session and information about the technical aspects of the Zoom sessions. If you need any accommodations, such as breastfeeding breaks, please do not hesitate to let us know in advance.

We are asking all participants to dress “business casual” — i.e., dress shirts (no ties necessary), blouses, sweaters, etc. 

We will ask applicants to use computer tablets, laptops, or desktop computers for the virtual sessions instead of smart phones and have their cameras turned on.
 

Physician Scientist Days

Applicants with MD/PhD or MD, DO residents with extensive research experiences who plan research-intensive careers following residency may be invited to a 2-day interview for our physician-scientist training program.  We are planning a question and answer session with our Chair, Division Chiefs and fellowship directors in order to provide more information to applicants about our subspecialty programs and research opportunities.  Applicants will also have an opportunity to meet with current residents in our physician scientist track during an evening virtual social.