OME - Contacts

Faculty Leadership

Preetha Basaviah, MD

Assistant Dean, Pre-Clerkship Education

(650)724-9621    pree@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the pre-clerkship curriculum
  • Chairs the Pre-Clerkship Course Directors' committee

James Lau, MD, MHPE, FACS

Assistant Dean, Clerkship Education

(650) 724-6490    jnlau@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the clerkship curriculum
  • Chairs the Required Clerkship Directors' committee

Lars Osterberg, MD

Program Director, Educators-4-CARE

Co-Director, Teaching and Mentoring Academy

(650)723-1536    larso@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the Educators-4-CARE program
  • Co-directs the Teaching and Mentoring Academy

Laurence Baker, PhD

Director, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-4098  laurence.baker@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the Scholarly Concentration and Medical Scholars programs
  • Chairs the Scholarly Concentration Directors' committee

Administrative Oversight

Cynthia A. Irvine, M.Ed.

Associate Dean, Office of Medical Education

(650)723-1330    cirvine@stanford.edu

  • Oversees staff, financial and operational management for the MD curriculum
  • Oversees compliance with LCME standards for the educational program

Nikia Earls

OME Program Coordinator

(650)498-7581    nikiae@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support to leadership of the Office of Medical Education
  • Provides programmatic support for the activities of the Office of Medical Education

Clinical Outreach and Education

Belinda Hernandez, MSW

Managing Director, Cardinal Free Clinics

(650)723-6675    bhernan@stanford.edu

  • Provides operations administration for the Cardinal Free Clinics
  • Supports student learning related to clinic operations and management

Kim Osborn, MPA

Administrative Director, Clinical Education

(650)736-2592    kosborn@stanford.edu

  • Administrative Director for Early Clinical Experience Programs, including SHIELD
  • Oversees administration and staff supporting the Cardinal Free Clinics, community faculty appointments, and affiliation agreements

MD Curriculum

Bahij Austin

Director of Curricular Affairs

(650)725-2973    bahij@stanford.edu

  • Oversees policies and procedures related to the required curriculum; manages the Committee on Curriculum and Academic Policy
  • Administrative oversight of curriculum re-design and implementation
  • Administrative Director for the Educators-4-CARE program

Madika Bryant, MA

Administrative Director, Practice of Medicine (POM)

(650)723-5410    mbryant6@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative oversight of the Practice of Medicine (POM) course
  • Education manager for the first year POM course

Brian Herman, MPA

Assistant Director, Clerkship Education

(650)725-4677    bherman8@stanford.edu

  • Provides admistrative management of the clerkship curriculum, including existing and proposed clerkships and programs
  • Manages the Required Clerkship Directors' committee and oversees the Required Clerkship Coordinators' meetings

Donald Matsuda, MD

Assistant Director, Pre-Clerkship Education

(650)723-1337    dmatsuda@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative management of the pre-clerkship curriculum
  • Manages the Pre-Clerkship Course Directors committee
  • Manages the centralized Teaching Assistant selection process

Laura Parra

Education Manager, Practice of Medicine (POM) Year 2

(650)725-7673    lparra@stanford.edu

  • Manages the second year Practice of Medicine course (POM)

Mohamed Sow, MD

Curriculum Program Manager

(650)723-5925    msow@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support across the curriculum, including curriculum working groups and other educational initiatives

Medical Student Promotion

Jared Shields

Medical Student Promotion Manager

(650)724-6837    jshields@stanford.edu

  • Reviews the development and performance of each student on an ongoing basis in the areas of the fulfillment of academic, technical, and professional standards
  • Serves as point of contact for the Committee on Performance, Professionalism and Promotion (CP3)

Medical Student Research and Scholarship

Natalie Marino

MedScholars Program Administrator, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-0355    nmarino1@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support for the Stanford Medical Scholars programs
  •  

Celina Ng

Assistant Director, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-7817    celinang@stanford.edu

  • Manages the Scholarly Concentration Program and Stanford Medical Scholars programs
  • Manages the Scholarly Concentration Directors' committee

Research and Evaluation

Kiranjit Brar

Associate Director for Evaluation

(650)725-5934    kiranjit@stanford.edu

  • Oversees pre-clerkship and clerkship evaluations
  • Oversees evaluation management system (E*Value/MedHub)

Claire Cioni

Evaluation Research Analyst

(650)724-7508  ccioni@stanford.edu

  • Analyzes evaluation data for pre-clerkship and clerkship curriculum
  •  

Jennifer Deitz, MA

Director, Research and Evaluation

(650)498-4954    jdeitz@stanford.edu

  • Oversees research and evaluation of the required MD curriculum, including innovations and new initiatives
  • Manages staff and resources associated with implementing medical education research and evaluation plans
  • Chairs the Clerkship Evaluation Committee (CEC)

Irina Russell, PhD

Senior Research Analyst

(650)736-2055    imrussell@stanford.edu

  • Oversees curriculum management system (Ilios)
  • Conducts research on curricular initiatives