Three researchers receive awards to study epilepsy

Juliet Knowles, Megan Wyeth and Christopher Makinson awarded American Epilepsy Society grants.

Three School of Medicine researchers have received early-career awards from the American Epilepsy Society.

Juliet Knowles, MD, PhD, a chief resident in neurology, received an AES Research and Training Fellowship for Clinicians, which includes a $50,000 award to study the effect of recurrent seizures on myelin structure and plasticity.

Megan Wyeth, PhD, a postdoctoral scholar in comparative medicine, received an AES Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, which includes a $45,000 award to study the inhibitions of interneurons in a model of temporal lobe epilepsy.

Christopher Makinson, PhD, a postdoctoral scholar in neurology and neurological sciences, received an AES/Wishes for Elliott Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, which includes a $45,000 award to use a 3-D human culture platform to test therapies for a type of epilepsy caused by a genetic mutation known as SCN8A.

Stanford Medicine integrates research, medical education and health care at its three institutions - Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Health Care (formerly Stanford Hospital & Clinics), and Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford. For more information, please visit the Office of Communication & Public Affairs site at

Leading in Precision Health

Stanford Medicine is leading the biomedical revolution in precision health, defining and developing the next generation of care that is proactive, predictive and precise. 

A Legacy of Innovation

Stanford Medicine's unrivaled atmosphere of breakthrough thinking and interdisciplinary collaboration has fueled a long history of achievements.