Alexander Frolov, MD


Residency (PGY-2): University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine

Internship: University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Medical School: University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Undergraduate: Southern Methodist University


Behavioral neurology

Medical education



Frolov A, Feuerstein J, Subramanian PS. Homonymous Hemianopia and Vision Restoration Therapy. Neurologic Clinics. 2017; 35(1): 29-43. doi: 10.1016/j.ncl.2016.08.010

Miller-Khulmann R, Kraler L, Bozinov N, Frolov A, Gold C, Kvam K. A Quality Improvement Curriculum for Neurology Residents. Poster, Stanford Quality Improvement Symposium: 2017. 

Frolov A, Reyes-Vasquez C, Dafny N. Behavioral and neuronal recording of the nucleus accumbens in adolescent rats following acute and repetitive exposure to methylphenidate. J Neurophysiol. 2015; 133(1): 369-379. doi:10.1152/jn.00633.2013

Frolov S, Frolov A. Sisera Unfastened: On the Meaning of Judges 4:21 aβ-γ. Biblical Notes. 2015; 165: 55-61. ISSN 0178-2967.

Frolov A, Reyes-Vasquez C, Dafny N. Adolescent behavior and NAc neuronal recording following methylphenidate (0.6, 2.5, 5.0, 10.0 mg/kg i.p.). Poster & abstract, Society for Neuroscience: 2013.

Frolov A, Slater J. Neuroethics Curriculum Review and Proposal. Poster & abstract, International Neuroethics Society: 2013.

Frolov A, Liu R-Y, Zhang Y, Baxter DA, Byrne JH. Comparison of pCREB1 Levels in Aplysia Sensory Neurons Following 5-HT Treatment Using a Standard and an Enhanced Protocol. Poster & abstract, UT Houston Summer Research Program: 2011.


Academic Chief Resident, Stanford Neurology 2017-2018

UTHealth Neuroscience Research Center’s Award for the Distinguished Medical Student in the Neurosciences, 2014

Recognition of Outstanding Academic Achievement in Neuroscience, UT Medical School at Houston, 2011

Honors in Liberal Arts and Departmental Distinction in Philosophy,  Southern Methodist University, 2010

Phi Beta Kappa Society, Southern Methodist University, 2009

Robert Stewart Hyer Honor Society University Achievement Award, Southern Methodist University, 2008

President’s Scholar, Southern Methodist University, 2006-2010