The +OUTlist is a resource supporting Stanford Medicine LGBTQ+ individuals in community-building, mentorship, and visibility. If you're interested in joining the Stanford +OUTlist and/or the list serv, please fill out this submission form. All are welcome regardless of personal identity. 

Have any suggestions, questions, or ideas? Contact us at medoutlist@stanford.edu.

Faculty

Ben A. Barres, MD, PhD

Professor of Neurobiology
Stanford University School of Medicine
(In Remembrance)

Kevin Brennan, PhD

Research Instructor
Stanford University School of Medicine
kbren@stanford.edu

Wendy Caceres, MD 

Clinical Instructor, Internal Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
caceres@stanford.edu

Victor G. Carrion, MD

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Faculty Development and Diversity
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
Stanford University School of Medicine
vcarrion@stanford.edu

Amy D. Dobberfuhl, MD

Instructor, Dept. of Urology
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
adobber@stanford.edu

Michael Gisondi, MD (Male, Gay)

Vice Chair of Education, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Health Care
mgisondi@stanford.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Geoff Hart-Cooper, MD (Male)

Adjunct Clinical Instructor, Pediatrics
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
gdhartco@stanford.edu

Benjamin Laniakea, MD 

Clinical Instructor 
Stanford Medicine/Primary Care
laniakea@stanford.edu

James Lock, MD, PhD (Male)

Professor
Stanford University School of Medicine
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
Stanford University
jimlock@stanford.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Jennifer Pien, MD (Female, Bisexual)

Clinical Assistant Professor, Affiliated
Stanford University School of Medicine
San Mateo County Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
jennpien@stanford.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Tom Raffin, MD (Male, Gay)

Professor Emeritus, Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
tar@stanford.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Leslee Subak, MD (Female, Lesbian)

Professor and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Health Care, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
lsubak@stanford.edu

Patrick Swift, MD (Male, Gay)

Professor, Radiation Oncology
Stanford University School of Medicine
pswift2@stanford.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Zachary Threlkeld, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurology and Neurological Sciences
Stanford University School of Medicine
zthrelk@stanford.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

José Vilches-Moure, DVM, PhD, DACVP (Male, Gay)

Assistant Professor, Comparative Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
jvilches@stanford.edu

David Vu, MD (Male, Gay)

Instructor, Pediatrics
Stanford University School of Medicine
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
davidvu@stanford.edu

Staff

Jorge A. Alvarado, BA (Male, Gay)

Life Science Research Professional, Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine
jorge90q@stanford.edu

Marcella Anthony, MPA 

Community Outreach Programs Manager
Stanford University School of Medicine
manthony@stanford.edu

Becca Appelt, DPT (Female)

Physical Therapist
Stanford Health Care
rappelt@bu.edu

George Aulson, BSN (Male, Bisexual)

Assistant Patient Care Manager- Float Team and Staffing Office
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
gaulson@stanfordchildrens.org
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Bahij Austin, BA (Male, Gay)

Director of Curricular Affairs
Stanford University School of Medicine
bahij@stanford.edu

Adrien Barbas, NP-C

Vascular Surgery and Cardiology Nurse Practitioner
Stanford Health Care, Emeryville
abarbas@stanfordhealthcare.org
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them/Their

Erica Britton, PsyD

Psychologist, Faculty Staff Help Center
Faculty Staff Help Center
ebritton@stanford.edu

Michelle Brooks, C-TAGME (Female, Pansexual)

Pediatrics Residency Coordinator
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
mbrooks@stanfordchildrens.org
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Tricia Cerone, RN (Female)

Registered Nurse
Stanford Health Care
triciacerone@gmail.com
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Nicola Curtin, PhD 

Program Evaluator, Center of Excellence 
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
ncurtin@stanford.edu

Robert M. DiFazio, PhD 

Research and Science Analyst
Stanford University School of Medicine
rdifazio@stanford.edu

Inge Hansen, PsyD (Cisgender Woman, Pansexual)

Director of Weiland Health Initiative; Asst Director of Outreach, Equity & Inclusion at CAPS
Stanford Health Care
ihansen@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Claire Hawks (Female, Male to Female Transgender Woman)

Information Technology Project Manager
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
chawks@stanfordchildrens.org
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Jimmy Ho, DNP (Male, Gay)

Clinical Nurse
Stanford Health Care
Ming-ChunHo@stanfordhealthcare.org

Alison Holzer-Speed, PhD (Female, Lesbian)

Associate Director
Stanford University School of Medicine
aholzer@stanford.edu

Kyle Kovtun, MS (Male, Gay)

Clinical Trial Project Manager
Stanford University School of Medicine
kyle.kovtun@stanford.edu

Melina Lopez, BA

Performance Improvement Associate
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
melinaerika55@gmail.com

John Mantovani, MA

Computing Info Systems Analyst Genetics
Stanford University School of Medicine
johnjm@stanford.edu

Chris Morris, BS (Male, Gay)

Physician Practice Manager
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
cmorris@stanfordchildrens.org

Kat Nameth, BS (Genderqueer/Gender Non-Conforming, Gay)

Clinical Research and Project Management/Development, Psychiatry
Stanford University School of Medicine
knameth@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them/Their or She/Her/Hers

Kim Osborn, MPA

Administrative Director, Clinical Outreach and Education
Stanford University School of Medicine
kosborn@stanford.edu

Cody Parsons, PharmD (Male, Gay)

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Clinical Care
Stanford Health Care
cparsons@stanfordhealthcare.org

John Reuling, BS

Director of IT Support
Stanford University School of Medicine
reuling@stanford.edu

Stephanie Routson, BSN, MSN (Female)

Nurse Practitioner, Gynecolic Oncology
Stanford Health Care
sroutson@stanfordhealthcare.org
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Ray Russ, MS (Male, Gay)

Radiation Protection Tech
SLAC
rruss@stanford.edu

Timothy Seay-Morrison, MSW 

Executive Director Patient Care Services
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
timorrison@stanfordhealthcare.org

Bruce Schaar, PhD (Male, Gay)

Academic Program Professional 2
Stanford University School of Medicine
bschaar@stanford.edu

Juana Serrano, MPA (Female, Lesbian)

Applications Manager, IT
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
jserrano@stanfordchildrens.org

Vera M. Shadle, MHA, MHS 

Data Manager, Cancer Clinical Trials Office
Stanford University School of Medicine
vmshadle@stanford.edu

Kevin Silvestre, MS (Male, Gay)

Senior Consultant, Human Resources - Talent Acquisition
Stanford Health Care
ksilvestre@stanfordhealthcare.org

Christopher Stevens-Yu, MS

Speech-Language Pathologist
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
stevens92@gmail.com

Gustavo Vazquez, BA (Male, Gay)

Life Science Research Professional
Stanford University School of Medicine
vazq@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Erica Velasco, AS (Female, Lesbian)

Clinical Research Coordinator-CCTO
Stanford University School of Medicine
ericav@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Robert Victor, BS (Male, Gay)

Research and Program Officer
Office of Faculty Development and Diversity
Stanford University School of Medicine
rbvictor@stanford.edu

Grace Villarin Duenas, MPH 

Associate Director of California Perinatal Quality Care Collaborative (CPQCC)
Division of Neonatology, Dept of Pediatrics
Steering Committee, Queer University Employees at Stanford (QUEST)
Stanford University School of Medicine
gduenas@stanford.edu

Shana White, MS (Female, Bisexual)

Genetic Counselor | Clinical Instructor (Affiliated), Pediatrics
Stanford Health Care
shanawhite@stanfordhealthcare.org

Dawn Marcia Wilson, M.S.A, Physics (Male to Female Transgender Woman)

VAPAHCS, Veteran
VAPAHCS
aNewDawn@gmail.com
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Chris Witwer, CIP (Female, Lesbian)

HRPP Manager, Research Compliac Ofc
Office of the Dean of Research, Stanford University
cwitwer@stanford.edu

Ann-Marie Yap, BS (Female)

Executive Director of IT
Stanford Health Care
ayap@stanfordhealthcare.org

Sam Zelch, MBA

Associate Dean, Chief Financial Officer
Stanford University School of Medicine
szelch@stanford.edu

Dani Zionts, MScPH (Female)

Social Science Researcher, Primary Care & Population Health
Stanford University School of Medicine
dzionts@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Her

Residents, Fellows, and Post-Docs

Vincent Alford, PhD (Male, Gay)

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
valford@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Tessa Andermann, MD, MPH

Fellow, Infectious Diseases
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
tessaa@stanford.edu

Alexander Ball, MD, MPH

Resident, Pediatrics
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
ajball@stanford.edu

Michael Davenport, MD 

Resident, Urology
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
Stanford University School of Medicine
mtdavenp@stanford.edu

Nicole De Jesus, PhD (Female, Lesbian)

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
ndejesus@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Erik Eckhert, MD, MS (Male, Gay)

Resident, Internal Medicine
Stanford Health Care
eckhert@stanford.edu

Neir Eshel, MD, PhD (Male)

Resident Physician, Psychiatry
Stanford Health Care
neshel@stanford.edu

Micaela Esquivel, MD

Resident Physician, General Surgery 
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
Stanford University School of Medicine
mesquive@stanford.edu

Elana Feldman, MD (Female)

Pediatrics R2
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, Stanford Health Care
elanaf@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Adam Gomez, MD

Chief Resident, Clinical Pathology
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
ajgomez@stanford.edu

Lily Horng, MD

Fellow, Infectious Diseases
Stanford University School of Medicine
lhorng@stanford.edu

Cassie Ludwig, MD, MS (Female, Gay/Lesbian)

Resident in Ophthalmology, PGY2 (soon to be PGY3)
Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Health Care
caludwig@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Zhonglin Lyu, PhD (Gay)

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
zllyu@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Adam MacLellan, MD

Fellow, Vascular Neurology
Stanford Health Care
amaclell@stanford.edu

Mikey Maurer, MD

Resident, Pediatrics
Stanford Childrens' Health
mjmaurer@stanford.edu

Bradford Nguyen, MD (Male, Gay)

Pediatrics Intern
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
btn@stanford.edu

Brian Nuyen, MD

Resident Physician, Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics 
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
banuyen@stanford.edu

JP Oliviera, PhD (Male, Gay)

Postdoc, Immunology
Stanford University School of Medicine
oliveria@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Elizabeth Ozery, MD (Female)

Resident Physician, Anesthesiology
Stanford Health Care
eozery@stanford.edu

Chris Rishel, MD, PhD (Male, Gay)

Resident, Anesthesiology
Stanford Health Care
rishel@stanford.edu

Jessica Ross, PhD (Female, Bisexual)

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
jlross@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Brandon Seminatore, MD (Male, Gay)

Child Neurology Resident
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
bdsemina@stanford.edu

Chelsea L. Shover, PhD

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
clshover@stanford.edu

Matthew Stevens, PhD (Male)

Postdoc
Stanford University School of Medicine
mcstev@stanford.edu

Ken Sutha, MD, PhD

Fellow, Pediatric Nephrology
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
ksutha@stanford.edu

Meg Tabaka, MD, MPH

Resident, Family Medicine
Stanford Health Care
mtabaka@stanford.edu

Christiaan de Vries, MD, PhD

Fellow, Infectious Diseases
Stanford University School of Medicine
devries2@stanford.edu

Abraham Waldman, PhD (Male, Gay)

Postdoc
Department of Chemistry
awaldman@stanford.edu

Jackie Wang, MD

Resident, Psychiatry
Stanford Health Care
wangj19@stanford.edu

Amanda Yeaton-Massey, MD

Clinical Fellow, Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology              Stanford University School of Medicine
amandaym@gmail.com

Nix Zelin, MD (Female, Queer)

Resident, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford Health Care
nzelin@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Medical & Graduate Students,
Physician Assistants

Liana Bonanno 

MSTP Student, 7th Year
Stanford University School of Medicine
lianab@stanford.edu

Laura Bloomfield, MD/PhD

Student
Stanford University School of Medicine, EIPER, School of Earth Sciences
labloom@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Tyler Bryant, MD (Male, Gay)

Medical Student, MS2
Stanford University School of Medicine
tsbryant@stanford.edu

Malcolm Chelliah, MD/MBA (Male)

Medical Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
mchelliah@stanford.edu

Binbin Chen

Medical Student, MSTP
Stanford University School of Medicine
bchen45@stanford.edu

Melodyanne Cheng, BA, BS

M.S. Candidate, Comparative Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
mycheng8@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers, They/Their/Them

John Coan, BS (Genderqueer, Gay)

PhD Candidate in Cancer Biology
Stanford University School of Medicine
jcoan@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Jeffrey Cohen

Psy.D. Candidate, Clinical Psychology
Research Assistant in the Laboratory for Behavioral Medicine
PGSP-Stanford PsyD Consortium
jeffreycohen@stanford.edu

Sayantan Deb

Medical Student, MS4 
Stanford University School of Medicine
deb1014@stanford.edu

Luis Garcia, MS

Medical Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
lcgarcia@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Shawn Gillespie, BS (Male, Gay)

Cancer Biology Graduate Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
shawng2@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/His/Him

Jason Gomez, Forthcoming MD (Male, Gay, Asexual)

Medical Student, MS1
Stanford University School of Medicine
jasngomz@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Zintis Inde, B.Sc. (Male, Gay)

Ph.D. Candidate, Cancer Biology
Stanford University School of Medicine
zinde@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Geoff Ivison, BA (Bisexual)

PhD Candidate, Immunology
Stanford University School of Medicine
givison@stanford.edu

Mark Jeng, PhD

Medical Student, MS2
Stanford University School of Medicine
markjeng@stanford.edu

Marija Kamceva (Female)

Medical Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
mkamceva@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Timothy Keyes, BA (Male)

MD/PhD Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
tkeyes@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Ethan Li, MS (Non-Binary, Queer)

Ph.D. Student, Bioengineering
Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford University School of Engineering
ethanli@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them

Dylan Peterson (Male, Gay)

Medical Student, MS1
Stanford University School of Medicine
dpeters9@stanford.edu

Nicolas Quach, BS (Male, Gay)

Medical Student, MS1
Stanford University School of Medicine
nquach@stanford.edu

David Mahoney

Medical Student, MS4
Stanford University School of Medicine
mahoneyd@stanford.edu

Kevin Nuno, PhD (Male, Gay)

Ph.D. Candidate, Cancer Biology
Stanford University School of Medicine
knuno@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Jarod Rutledge, BA (Male)

Graduate Student
Stanford University School of Medicine
jarod@stanford.edu

Emily Tran, BA (Female, Lesbian)

Medical Student, MS1
Stanford University School of Medicine
emtran@stanford.edu

Daniel J. Wesche, M.Sc.

Ph.D. Candidate, Stem Cell Biology
Masters of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
dwesche@stanford.edu

Masaki Yamada (Male, Gay)

HCP Masters Student, Biomedical Informatics
Stanford University School of Medicine, Genentech
mryamada@stanford.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Alumni

Stephanie Brenman, MD

Resident, Emergency Medicine 
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum 
Sbrenman8@gmail.com

John Downey, MD, MPH

Breast Imaging Fellow and Clinical Instructor (Affiliated)
Deptartment of Radiology 
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
Stanford University Hospital and Clinics
jrdowney@stanford.edu

Jennifer Johnsen, MD, MPH

Master Certified Professional Coach, Equus Coach, and Mindfulness Trainer
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
jen@jenniferjohnsen.com

Cassie Ludwig, MD, MS

Resident, Opthalmology
Stanford University
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
cassieludwig@gmail.com

Matthew Mansh, MD (Male, Gay)

Resident, Dermatology
University of Minnesota
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
mmansh@umn.edu
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him/His

Arturo Molina, MD, MS (Male)

Chief Medical Officer, Sutro Biopharma and President-Elect, Stanford Medicine Alumni Association
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
amolina@sutrobio.com

Elizabeth Snyder, MD

Resident, Department of Urology
UNC School of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum 

Michael Turken, MD

Stanford University Hospital and Clinics Alumni
mturken@stanford.edu

Maggie Wells, MD, MPP

Resident, Family Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum
mewells@stanford.edu

Howard L. Rice, MD (Male, Gay)

Private Practice, Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases
Stanford University School of Medicine Alum 
drrice@drrice.com

Want to spread the word?

Visibility is powerful.

Contact medoutlist@stanford.edu for help in featuring the +OUTList on your website!

LGBTQ Subcommittee

The LGBTQ subcommittee is part of the School of Medicine Diversity Cabinet, and convenes monthly to discuss ongoing and future initiatives.

For more information, contact skotadia@stanford.edu

LGBTQ Meds

A student group dedicated to raising awareness of queer health issues and promoting equal social and political rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer people.

Visit the page here!

First LGBTQ Forum: Celebrating Visibility

The theme for the Stanford Medicine's First LGBTQ+ Forum was Celebrating Visibility.

This inaugural event, held on October 10th, 2018, promoted the continued growth of a visible Stanford Medicine LGBTQ+ community. Learn more here!

Appreciating allies

Allies are essential in advancing toward acceptance, visibility, and inclusivity.

Check out our supporter page, the ALLYlist!

LGBTQ Post Docs

Join the mailing list by contacting lgbtq-postdocs@stanford.edu!

oSTEM@Stanford

The mission of oSTEM@Stanford is to educate and foster leadership among LGBTQA students in STEM fields by enriching their professional background, providing them with unique STEM experiences, affirming their identities, and addressing their individual needs.